Cranberry Vanilla Buckle

IMG_6223Hello friends,  I’ve had a traumatic week.  I’ve lain awake at night, fretting.  I was faced with the daunting task of producing report cards for my hard-working little class of third and fourth graders.  I’ve done thousands of report cards in the last 20 years, but this year we have a newer computerized version that could stump an Apple engineer (I’m talking about you, Brian).  So yesterday I asked a group of my tried and true teacher buddies to come to my room to work on the report cards together after school.  And of course there had to be cake!!  I brought this beautiful cranberry cake and poured some cold apple cider and we set to work.  With their help (I’m talking about you Joanne!) I got those things all printed out– by 8:30 that evening!

But back to the cake!  It was surprisingly moist and tender, with the yummy vanilla and orange peel behind the tart cranberry flavor.  I’ll be making this again (without report cards!) over the Christmas season…

CRANBERRY VANILLA BUCKLE

Topping:
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 tab. brown sugar
1/8 tsp. salt
1/4 cup butter
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup sliced almonds

Cake:
1 3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
!/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup canola oil
grated peel of 1 orange
2 eggs
1 tab. vanilla
1/2 cup sour cream
2 cups cranberries, cut into halves and divided

IMG_6213To make the topping, sir together the flour, sugars and salt.  Cut in the butter with a pastry blender (or in a food processor).  Mix in the vanilla (it will be a little lumpy).  Keep the almonds on the side until you add the topping.

For the cake, mix up the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Then stir in the oil, orange peel, eggs, vanilla and sour cream.  Fold just 1 cup of the cranberries into the batter and spoon it into a 9″ baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.  Sprinkle the second up of cranberries over the batter in the dish.  Then cover it all with the topping and finally sprinkle the almonds on top.

Pop it into the oven at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes until it’s nicely browned on top and firm to the touch.

Serve it warm for a Christmassy breakfast– or with whipped cream for dessert after dinner.  I think you’ll love it.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cranberry Vanilla Buckle

  1. wingedprisms says:

    this looks and sound delicious – thank you. I hope you got the report cards done. :D

  2. Thanks! Yep, they are done and ready to be handed out. Thank goodness!

  3. Mary says:

    Yum looks good. I am sure it made working late a little easier.

  4. Looks delicious Rhonda!

  5. adaisygarden says:

    I don’t miss those days of staying late working on grades! That’s one part of teaching I did not enjoy. But the way you described it – with the cake and cider – it sounds like a party to me! –and so much fun! I don’t think I’d mind staying late for that, especially with friends! This recipe looks so good…I’m going to print it out and put it on the kitchen counter so I don’t forget to make it this week! :)

Leave a Reply

