Yogurt Pancakes with Maple Apples

IMG_7795Good morning– Saturday morning.  Pancake time!!  When I read this recipe, I thought, “is this going to work?!”  Only 1 cup of flour with all that yogurt and buttermilk?  The answer is YES!  They were light and tender– and with the maple apples –exquisite.  I think I have a new Saturday morning go-to pancake recipe.

YOGURT PANCAKES
1 cup flour
2 tab. yellow cornmeal
4 tab. brown sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup buttermilk*
1 cup unflavored yogurt
1 egg
2 tab. canola oil

Mix together the dry ingredients–flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder an salt in a pourable mixing bowl. (do you have one with a spout to pour out pancakes?)  Then blend in the buttermilk, yogurt, egg and oil.

Heat the griddle with butter or a spray of cooking spray. And cook the pancakes on medium until golden on both sides.  Makes about 15 lovely pancakes.

MAPLE APPLES
2 tab. melted butter
3 large apples, peeled, cored, cut into chunks
2 tab. maple syrup

Melt the butter in a nonstick skillet.  Drop in the apples and maple syrup.  Saute the apples for about 5 minutes, until they begin to brown a bit and are tender.  Serve with more maple syrup if you like (and I do!).

IMG_7798

17 thoughts on “Yogurt Pancakes with Maple Apples

  1. These look wonderful (great photo!). I’m going to try this with stevia in the pancake batter, saving the sugar for the apples. I’m also using whole wheat flour these days, but think it will work fine 🙂

      • I use it a lot. Anything that is liquid works well – puddings, drinks, yogurt, icings.

        Baking works well if you don’t need a lot of rising from eggs and sugar – some cakes, cookies, scones. Sometimes I add just a little sugar to make sure the flavor tastes more like sugar. Some people can taste the difference, eg honey has a different taste from syrup and from white sugar and brown. Stevia has its own taste too – all are sweet but different. Experiment. I have some stevia recipes on my site – search for stevia there if you want to have a look.

      • Rhonda ~ The trick with stevia is to used half sugar and half stevia! Stevia doesn’t hold up when used on its own in batters etc. At least that is what I have found to be true when using it.

      • Rhonda thank you so much for all your kind words!! I follow your blog with great pleasure, believe me!! I love your recipes and beautiful photos…Thank you so so much for taking the time to visit and for your lovely comments, I do appreciate it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: March 2013: A Review | Once in a Blue Spoon

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.