Caramel Pecan Apple Cobbler

IMG_2872

Hello there–  I wish I were my friend Janet.  I’ve had apple cobbler at her table– It’s delish!  And she just walks out in the backyard and picks the apples off her old apple tree just like a farmer!! And whips them up into a dessert.   I have to trudge to the market for mine.  But in the end, we both have a sweet plates of cobbler– and all the better with caramel and pecans.  Wherever you get your apples, I’m hoping you get a few heaping servings of apple cobbler this fall…

CARAMEL PECAN APPLE COBBLER
4 cups tart apples
1/2 cup caramel sauce*
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
dash salt
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup pecans

ice cream & a little extra caramel sauce to top your cobbler

In a mixing bowl stir together the brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt.  Then cut in the butter with a pastry blender (or a food processor) until it resembles coarse crumbs.  Stir in the pecans.  Set aside.

Peel and core the apples.  Then cut them into small chunks and spread them into a 9″ or 10″ pie dish sprayed with cooking spray.  Drizzle the 1/2 cup caramel evenly over the apples.

Spoon the flour-pecan mixture over the apples and pop them into the oven at 375 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes.

Most luscious served warm with ice cream and little more caramel sauce…

*If you’re more ambitious than I am, you can make your own caramel sauce– I really like the Hershey’s caramel in the jar.  Thin enough to pour and buttery good.

IMG_2852

9 thoughts on “Caramel Pecan Apple Cobbler

  1. This looks amazing! I have some caramel sauce (Hershey’s, because it is the best!) leftover from another recipe and now I know how I will use it up! Pinned, and plan to make this our weekend dessert! Thanks for sharing! ~Blessings~

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.