Flowers for the table

I had a sad moment today. Early this Saturday morning Larry asked, “Is is about time to cut down the sweet peas?” Well, yes. But I hate to see them go. So I went out and picked one last little fistful of the fragrant blooms to rest on the coffee table. That’s all ’til next year…

I love a clutch flowers on the table, in the kitchen, by the front door… If I plan right and the weather is obliging, I can have flowers from the yard almost year round. Camelia’s (“winter roses”) begin in January, freesias and then masses of sweet peas in the spring, summer roses and hydrangeas on into the fall. I have to settle for a greenery and a pumpkin late November and holly in little bunches for Christmas. But it’s a joy to bring the fresh, bit of life into the house. When I sit and study the curve of a petal on a double delight rose (my Grandma Roses’s favorite) and the way the vivid deep pink fades gracefully down to a soft ivory along the slope of the petal. Who put God could design such beauty? I’m thankful.

2 thoughts on “Flowers for the table

  1. hey mom – sorry i never comment on your blog – i always enjoy it!

    i cant wait for you to help me figure out the flower situation in the new yard – sweetpeas FOR SURE đŸ™‚ i wonder if the same things will grow up here as do down there (?).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.