Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

 

img_24871These pancakes are A-OK for a Saturday morning breakfast– best served with bacon and a hearty mug of hot, hot tea.  We had them yesterday with the kids home, all scrunched around the kitchen table–a delectable time together.

BANANA OATMEAL PANCAKES

2 smashed bananas
1 cup oatmeal
1 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 cup unflavored yogurt
3/4 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1/4 cup canola oil

Mix it all up and cook them on a pan sprayed with Pam.  Keep the temperature on medium (not high- my usual “get things done” setting!)  because they can be a bit thick and need to cook clear through.   Serve warm with puddles of syrup.

If you don’t have the unflavored yogurt, I’ve used sour cream or the flavored yogurt in a pinch.  And I prefer walnuts to pecans–They’re less expensive and add more crunch.  all in all these are sweet and hearty.

3 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

  1. Hey Rhonda ~ Today I had an aha moment as I was contemplating making these delicious pancakes yet again…I had made your White chocolate banana bread and thought to myself why not put white chocolate in these wonderful pancakes and send everyone to the moon and back! Well, I haven’t made them yet with the white chocolate, (waiting for the bananas to ripen) but I promise you I will…if your bananas ripen before mine and you get to it before me, let me know what you think on your tastebud ride to white chocolate moon!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

