Shanghai Noodles

Tried this recipe for Shanghai noodles tonight, although I’ve never seen the likes of it in visits to Shanghai.  But it was spicy good, full of flavor.  I think you’d like it…

SHANGHAI NOODLES
8 oz. noodles (chow mein or udon)
2 tab oil
12 oz. ground pork
salt & pepper
1 tab. minced ginger
1 cup chicken stock
1/2 tsp. chili garlic paste*
2 tab. soy sauce
1 tab. red wine vinegar
2 tab. tahini (or peanut butter)
pinch brown sugar
1 tab. roasted peanuts, chopped
2 tab. thinly sliced green onion

Cook the noodles according to the package instructions.  Meanwhile brown the pork in oil.  About half way through throw in the minced ginger and season with salt and pepper.  When the pork is all browned, add the chicken stock, chili paste, vinegar, soy sauce, tahini and brown sugar.  Simmer and stir a couple minutes until it thickens. How easy is that?

Serve up the noodles on a platter covered with the pork and sauce.  Garnish it all with the chopped peanuts and green onions.  Pretty and delicious.  Enjoy!

*I found the chili garlic paste at my local (not that well supplied) grocery store (so you can find it easily, I’m thinking).  The recipe I worked from called for a lot more than 1/2 tsp. –so you may want to spice it up a bit more.  Start with less and you can always add more heat is what I say!

3 thoughts on “Shanghai Noodles

  1. Hey there Rhonda ~ This sounds like a winner to me. I hope to try it soon! Does this serve about 4? Any side suggestions? Would you come and cook it for me? Pretty please?? I pray you are well. Keep those recipes and blogs coming. Love your camellias!

    blessings from rockford, brenda

    • Hey Brenda! I thought it was spicy/yummy. Yep, we had it for dinner with a couple leftover lunches in the fridge. Good to hear from you. I’d love to drop in and cook in your fabulous kitchen with you. Maybe someday…

Leave a Reply

