Turning 60

Walking into the next 10 years with Larry

About the time I turned 50, my mom sent me a card saying, “Enjoy your 50’s.  It’s the decade that you have energy and resources to travel.  Your kids get married and you start having grandchildren.  You have good time with friends and chances to accomplish important things.”  She was right.  The 50’s were grand!

But this week I jumped into a new decade with both feet!  I’m glad to be 60 (aside from a few aches and sags).  There’s a perspective, one you don’t have at 20.  You know who you are and what you hold dear.  You can see all those years behind and can anticipate how to make the best of what’s ahead.   So I’ve been thinking  and here’s what I’m hoping…

GOALS FOR THE NEXT TEN YEARS:

#1. Retire.  Yep, it’s really on my mind since friends all around me are retiring right and left.  Oh, the things I could do if I had the luxury of all those unfilled days!

#2. Acquire a few more grandkids.  I know I have nothing to do about this.  But I maintain high hopes for more reading buddies and cookie making assistants.

#3.  Travel– I have a list of places in the U.S. I’d like to set off to with Larry (Seattle, Charleston, New York state, Nashville, the Appalachian Trail…)  and places beyond I’d
love to see (Hong Kong, Slovakia, Viet Nam, Sweden, Quebec and Spain again–and again).

#4. Time with our parents.  I’d love to spend more time with them, dinner in the backyard or breakfast pancake talks.  No one else will listen to all my stories like they do.

#5. Learn to be a real photographer.  I could blame it on my camera, but I think I’m just an impatient photographer.  I need some skills.

#6.  Make loads of trips to Shanghai and San Francisco with Larry– sitting around the table, exploring new places, late night talks, walks through the park– all with our kids.  What could be better?

#7.  Bungee Jump — No, not really.  I just wanted to make my list a little more exciting!

#8.  Keep on blogging– there are not too many 70 year old bloggers out there, but I’m on my way!  It gives me a lot of joy.

#9.  Keep growing with my Monday night Bible study friends, my Tuesday young moms group, my faithful prayer friends–J & D.  They keep me on track and remind me of what is true and important.

#10.  Learn to use my phone like a 30 year old.  (I have a long way to go on that one)

#11.  Make 10 more quilts.  One for each year.

#12. Read a book a month.  Thank you Fullerton Public Library.

#13. Tackle a few major house fix-it-up projects before we retire.  I have list of the top 50 re-do’s  starting with a new front door.

#14.  Teach English in China another summer– hard but so rewarding.

#15. Be more prayerful.  Love God more.  Why has this been on my to-do list every year since I was 20?  Lord, have mercy.  I need you more than ever.

So that’s it.  Being 60 is just fine.  I’m hopeful for the years ahead.

Thanks Ani for the photo–I stole it off Instagram.

9 thoughts on “Turning 60

  1. Love your list, Rhonda! It is good to set those goals. Need a buddy to take a photography class with you? Your little cousin might be up for that adventure! Happy Birthday, late but heartfelt!

Leave a Reply

