In Case of Fire…

Hello friends–  Haven’t you had the conversation–“If you house was on fire, what one or two things would be grab on your way out the door.?” Of course your family, the dog…  Lots of people answer–photos.  or maybe– my laptop.  I’d hope to get my two little  irreplaceable  recipe notebooks.  But my first grab would be my old Bible.

Larry gave it to me when our children were babies.  It has marks and notes and prayers scribbled in the margins that chronicle almost 40 years of a life.  And tucked between the pages are small momentos I treasure.  There’s a flattened oak leaf from a morning in Big Bear when I had a significant talk with God over one of my struggles.  And a dear typed letter from Ani, that she gave us during her wedding ceremony.  There are two tattered back and white photos of my boys as toddlers and scraps of notes written by Larry when we were newlyweds.  I keep a copy of one letter we wrote from Spain to friends at home and a photo of all our kids the Christmas we were all together (thanks Laurel for that).

Most of all I love it for all the things God has said to me over so many years from it’s pages.  “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”
Isaiah 41:10.

A couple years ago that old Bible fell apart at the binding.  Larry paid a small fortune to have it all rebound with creamy brown leather for my Christmas gift and now I’m sure it’s good for another 40 years… For this book, I am thankful.

6 thoughts on “In Case of Fire…

Leave a Reply

