Lentil Soup with Italian Sausage

IMG_8626Hi all–  I have never been so cold!!  We are having a record breaking cold spell here in California (I know, I know.  I’m getting no sympathy from my friends in Illinois and Michigan!)  But things went from bad to worse when our heater went out a couple days ago!  So it’s all about fuzzy socks and roaring fires in the fireplace here now.  And soup.  I’ve been making pot after pot of hot soup.  Here’s the latest…

LENTIL SOUP WITH ITALIAN SAUSAGE
2 tab. olive oil
1/2 pound sweet Italian sausage*
1 onion, chopped fine
2 carrots, peeled and chopped to bits
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. fresh rosemary, chopped fine
1/2 tsp. dried basil
8 oz. brown lentils
4 cups chicken broth
3 cups water
3 cups fresh spinach, sliced to bits

IMG_8647Heat the olive oil in a soup pot.  Then drop in the sausage, chopping the sausage as it cooks to small bits.  When it’s well browned, take out the sausage with a slotted spoon.  Then put in the onion and carrot and cook until they’re softened, for 3 or 4 minutes.  Then put in the garlic, rosemary and basil and stir to meld the flavors over medium heat for 2 minutes more.  Add the lentils, broth and water and bring to boil.  Then lower the heat and simmer it all for 25 to 30 minutes until the lentils are tender.  Mix in the sausage and spinach and cook 3 or 4 minutes longer until it’s all heated though and the spinach has wilted.

Serve it up piping hot with some shavings of parmesan on top and crunchy hot bread.  Its delicious, I promise.

4 thoughts on “Lentil Soup with Italian Sausage

  1. Oh, that looks so warm and comforting! I could sit down to a bowl of that now! I can’t use the regular italian sausage (the nitrates in it are a migraine trigger) so I use turkey italian sausage and it’s also good. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. We had record cold here too (Arizona) – 3 nights in the 20’s. I feel for you, it was awful. Lentil sausage soup is one of my favorites. I make Barefoot Contessa’s version but your looks wonderful and I will have to try it! Stay warm and enjoy the roaring fire!

  3. What a divine meal in 1 bowl! Yumm! It is also freezing over here! It is -15°C!!! Really cold!! I need a comforting & warmisoothing soup like this tasty one to keep me warm! 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

