White Chocolate Banana Bread

IMG_8605Hey there– It was those black bananas moldering on the counter that got me going to pop this into the oven.  It’s my mom’s banana bread with a little extra– white chocolate and crunchy walnuts.  When it comes out of the oven, sweet and warm, it’s scrumptious.

WHITE CHOCOLATE BANANA BREAD
2 bananas, the riper the better
1/2 cup canola oil
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup flour
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped

IMG_8615Smash the bananas with a fork in a large mixing bowl.  Stir in the oil, eggs and sugar.  Then add the flour, baking powder and salt.  Finally fold in the white chocolate chips and walnuts.  Spoon it into 1 large standard bread pan or two smaller pans that have been sprayed with cooking spray.  And bake it up at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes.

My mom’s been making this recipe for years.  My sis, Lulu and I still talk about the rainy day our usually very sensible mom baked up a big pan of banana bread and served it with whipped cream for lunch!  So much better than our normal bologna sandwiches.  It was unforgettable…

8 thoughts on “White Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Banana bread for lunch? What a great way to get rid of the rainy day blues. 🙂
    I’m one of those crazy people who likes white chocolate more than regular chocolate, and I LOVE banana bread, so this sounds absolutely perfect for me!

  2. Hey there SoCal baking Gal ~ I did make this today…2 smallish loaves! Half of one is missing already…Derek and I pounced on it as soon as I came in from practice. My oh my is this a winner. Thx for the lunch tip too. Always have liked Aunt Lo’s eating habits 🙂

  3. Hi Rhonda…plz do come on over. I’ll put the kettle on and as they say in British Tele, “will have a cuppa” 😉 I shared the other loaf with our Creative arts team! They were very happy and creative afterwards…White Chocolate Banana Bread is taking the Midwest by storm!!! So is the Beef Staube Provencal…Thank you dear one…

Leave a Reply

