Prayer

Hello friends–  Working in the yard this week, I popped in my earbuds and listened to a heartening talk on prayer as I weeded and planted.  I was reminded to pray and to go to God as my kind father, with all the love and closeness of a child.  It’s been a big help.

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called the children of God.”  — 1 John 3:1

3935881Amy Carmichael (1867-1951), went as a young woman to India, started an orphanage there and stayed for the next 55 years caring for those children.  She wrote:

“We knew our Father…Would not his Fatherliness be willing to give us our hearts’ desire (if I may put it so)?  How could we press him as though he were not our most loving father?”

The link to the Tim Keller talk on prayer is at– http://sermons2.redeemer.com/sermons/basis-prayer-our-father

3 thoughts on “Prayer

  1. I was introduced to Amy Carmichael’s writings when I was a freshman in college. Her life & testimony, and her books impacted my life… and continue to challenge me and encourage me even today. Thank for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

