Cheese Ball

IMG_9542Hello friends–  Anticipating this dish, I headed to the cracker aisle at my grocer’s.  I don’t buy crackers often and I was truly amazed by the variety of those crunchy things!  Twelve kinds of Triscuits!  So I landed on the ones with olive oil and black pepper.  I can tell you those little guys are addictive– sad to say after the party was over and the cheese ball was long gone, I ate the whole box of leftover crackers one by one the next week. Mmmmm.

CHEESE BALL
8 oz. cream cheese
1 cup grated cheddar
1/2 pkg. Ranch dressing mix–2 tab.
2  green onions, minced
3/4 cup chopped almonds

Let the cream cheese sit out and come to room temperature.  The with a mixer blend in the cheddar, ranch dressing mix, and finely chopped green onion.  Shape it into a ball of sorts and pat on the chopped almonds to cover the whole thing.  Serve it with your favorite crackers (have you tried the olive oil & pepper Triscuits?!).

IMG_9510.

P.S.  This recipe is from a couple weeks back when my cooking buddy Betty and I summoned up a “comfort food dinner” for a tableful of amenable friends.  –Piled plates and worthwhile conversation.  It was a pleasant evening.  So to start us off before dinner we decided on one of my Grandma’s specialties, the good old cheese ball to go with a nice glass of wine (not one of my grandma’s specialties).  It’s simple and easy for everyone to dig in as they arrive and the party starts up…  The photo is Betty with her ever popular macaroni & cheese.  It’s killer.

2 thoughts on “Cheese Ball

Leave a Reply

