Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

IMG_0337Hello there–  One chilly day in San Francisco Larry and I hiked  for breakfast with our kids to Park Chow–a favorite of mine.  We sat at a small table by the fireplace over hot cups of tea & coffee.  Larry settled on lemon ricotta pancakes.  They were beautiful and have been on my mind ever since.  So when I ran across a lemon pancake recipe, I knew it would be our Sunday lunch.  Here they are hot off the griddle…

LEMON RICOTTA PANCAKES
1 1/2 cup flour
3 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1/4 cup sugar
1 cup milk
1 egg
1/4 cup canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup ricotta cheese
lemon peel, grated from one lemon
1/2 cup lemon juice (about 2 lemons)

IMG_0352.

Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Then stir in the milk, egg, oil vanilla, ricotta, lemon zest and juice.  That’s it.  Heat your griddle to medium heat and coat it with butter or cooking spray.  Pour out the batter by about 1/3 cupfuls. Makes about 16 medium pancakes.

Serve them up with a shake of powdered sugar and a jug of maple syrup– and bacon, of course, bacon.  Pancakes are really just my excuse to cook up a couple strips of bacon.  Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Lemon Ricotta Pancakes

    • Danielle– Never have had ricotta topping on pizza– I like garlicky olive oil– but I’ll have to try ricotta next time– I have some in the fridge. What kind of toppings to you use? Do you put other cheese?

      • After I put on the ricotta, I like to drizzle a little bit of olive oil and then I add fresh basil, spinach or arugula and fresh mozarella. Sometimes I will thinly slice tomato or put on sundried tomatoes or marinated artichoke hearts but I LOVE the “white” pizza. I will do a post on it soon – I’ve taken pictures the last several times I’ve made it but haven’t gotten around to writing it up yet. The archer farms brand (at Target) also has a thin pizza crust that I really like. Also if you do the tomato and basil, a little drizzle of thick balsalmic over the top is pretty darn good.

Leave a Reply

