Nutty Maple Granola

IMG_0833Hi all–  I’m taken with this new granola recipe.  Had a bowlful for breakfast, took a little baggie-ful to snack on at recess break at work and then ate more before bed.  It’s the nuts. Nutty delicious.   I got the recipe from my culinary cousin, Brenda.  We drove out to eat breakfast by her fireplace when we were in Chicago and this stuff was on the table –SOOO good (along with everything else she made).  I’ll be keeping a tubful of this in my kitchen cupboard from now on…  (thanks Brenda!)

NUTTY MAPLE GRANOLA
Cooking Spray
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup chopped raw, unsalted walnuts
1/2 cup chopped unsalted almonds
1/2 cup chopped unsalted pecans
2/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (or cinnamon)
1/2 cup currants* or raisins, optional

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.  Prepare a large rimmed baking sheet lined with foil.

IMG_0819In a medium bowl combine the oats, nuts, maple syrup, salt, pumpkin pie spice.  Spread the mixture onto the baking sheet and bake until golden brown, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes. Transfer the sheet to a cooling rack and let cool completely. Stir in the currants (or raisins).  Store in an airtight container.

Feel free to eat it morning, noon and night.

And thanks Bigarels for the luxurious maple syrup!

*I use currants instead of raisins because they are small enough to add sweetness but not to taste gummy.  I know they’re hard to find in Socal–Look at Sprouts.

6 thoughts on “Nutty Maple Granola

  1. I like to use chopped dried cherrys in mine as well…I think when I served it here though I had forgotten to put them in!!! You’re right Rhonda, it is good morning, noon, and night 🙂 I have also added shredded coconut when I am in a tropical mood and my grass skirt is lonely! Glad you liked it.

    • Katie– so glad you tried it. It’s an enormous encouragement to hear that someone actually makes one of these recipes! thanks. I’m making a batch myself this afternoon for a friend…

Leave a Reply

