Apricot Coffee Cake

IMG_0927Hey there–  I’m not a coffee drinker.  I keep thinking I should learn to love it so I can ditch my diet coke habit. I’ve tried, but failed to make the switch.  I do love coffee ice cream.  And am definitely a fan of all kinds of coffee cake (even farther afield from real coffee).  So leaving coffee behind, here’s a lovely tender coffee cake, good with whatever you choose to drink with it…

APRICOT COFFEE CAKE
5 tab. canola oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
2/3 cup buttermilk*
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. amaretto** (optional, of course)
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 14 oz. cans of apricots (or ten fresh apricots if it’s summer!)
1 cup sliced almonds
powdered sugar

IMG_0939Drain the apricots and cut them into small chunks.  In a large mixing bowl, mix together the oil, sugar, eggs. buttermilk, vanilla and amaretto.  Then stir in the flour, baking powder and salt.  Finally, carefully fold in the bits of apricot.  Sprinkle on the sliced almonds and throw it into at 350 degree oven for 35 to 40 minutes until it’s browned around the edges and firm to the touch.  Let it cool a bit to serve and dust it with powdered sugar sifted though a sieve.

*I just use regular milk mixed with 2 tab. of cider vinegar–let it sit a couple minutes to thicken.
**I love a big bottle amaretto.  It lasts forever and is so much less expensive than those little bottles of almond flavoring extract.

10 thoughts on “Apricot Coffee Cake

  1. I agree with you Rhonda…I love a big bottle of amaretto too!! Because well…it’s amaretto! Hope to be baking this soon! Thanks for posting 🙂

    • Brenda– you are so cute!! I made 6 of these cakes for a shower last Saturday. moist and fruity. And I’ve made 4 batches of your granola!! What have you been baking up lately?

Leave a Reply

