Thankful Heart– Henry Ward Beecher

230px-Henry_Ward_Beecher_daguerreotype.

“The unthankful heart… discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings!”
–Henry Ward Beecher (1813-1887, Clergyman, Abolitionist)

This has been a week.  I’ve felt worn and less than thankful.  So it was good to run across this encouragement from Beecher.  And set me to thinking of all the thanks I can give…

Today I’m thankful for:
#1. Vivid yellow & orange nasturtiums taking over my front yard
#2. A fresh stack of library books on my nightstand
#3. The chatter of Bible study old friends arriving in a couple hours
#4. 3rd graders who’ve been working like little beavers on state tests
#5. Sitting at Yorgurtland with Larry last night as the evening cooled
#6. Long newsy phone calls from kids this weekend
#7.  New red shoes
#8. A long leisurely dinner with my Lit Group coming up tomorrow night
#9.  A new grand-baby arriving any minute in San Francisco!
#10. A merciful God, who loves me and hears me pray…

I remain thankful (at least I’m trying to keep in mind all those “heavenly blessings”).

 

Leave a Reply

