Succotash Salad (with Chicken & Avocado)

IMG_2273Hello all–  Succotash.  Do you remember that dish when you were a kid?  With big dry lima beans, mooshy tomatoes and corn?  It was never my favorite.  But since I’ve discovered the tidy little frozen baby lima beans at the market, I’ve become a lima bean fan!  Thery’re sweetish and tender and not at all dry.  And they add a happy little note to this salad.  We ate it out under the maple tree on a hot summer evening tonight.  Delish.

SUCCOTASH SALAD
salad greens (I like red leaf lettuce)
1 can yellow corn*
1 cup baby lima beans**
1 avocado, peeled and cut in nice chunks
1/4 cup read onion, chopped up finely
2 chicken breasts, grilled and cut into chunks***
3 slices turkey ham, cut to bits****
1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Grill the chicken outdoors or in a pan on the stove and brown the ham bits in a non-stick pan sprayed with cooking spray.  On a ample platter, layer the lettuce, corn, lima beans, avocado, onion, then chicken, ham and cheese.  Serve it with the dressing below.  Makes 4 servings.

I wanted to make this salad quick and easy so I cheated a bit:
*I used canned corn instead corn cut fresh off the cob
**I used lima beans I had frozen in the fridge–no need to cook them. Just let them defrost.
***I bought a rotisserie chicken (no cooking again!)  and saved the extra meet for tacos tomorrow
****The recipe I worked from called for 3 slices of bacon, but I had turkey ham in the fridge, so I used that instead.

OK, is that enough “footnotes” to make this simple recipe totally confusing??!!

IMG_2289CILANTRO LIME DRESSING
1/3 cup olive
1/2 cup unflavored yogurt
1 tab. lime juice
1 tsp. grated lime peel
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tab. mild vinegar (red wine vinegar, tarragon…)
1 cup cilantro leaves
1 tsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt

Use a food processor, blender or stick blender and whirl all the ingredients up into a smooth dressing.

(Or I think a nice buttermilk ranch dressing would serve this salad well)

OK, well hope you enjoy the salad!  Larry just finished the dishes so we’re taking a summer evening walk to Yogurtland.

5 thoughts on “Succotash Salad (with Chicken & Avocado)

  1. This sounds so delicious! I’ve never eaten succotash (I’ve only ever associated it with that ‘Sufferin’ succotash!’ saying… don’t even know where that’s from!) but I think I need to change that! Love the sound of the dressing. I reckon I’m going to try it on all sorts of things from now on. Even potatoes… mmmm! Thanks x

Leave a Reply

