Ginger Biscuits

IMG_3520Hello there–  Some foods you run across are so memorable, you can recall the the flavor, the texture, the little crunch around the edges the slight bit of heat… years later.  I’m talking about those candied ginger scones, I bit into with my friend Jenni over coffee, must be 15 years ago!  They’re still in the back of my mind.  So when I ran across a tidy tub of candied ginger at Sprouts last week, I thought that’s it– I have to see if I can come up with something as tasty as those fabled scones!   Here’s my try.  I think they were yummy…

GINGER BISCUITS
2 cups flour
2 tab. sugar
1 tab. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup milk
4 tab. candied ginger, minced to bits
more sugar to sprinkle on top

Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Cut in the butter with a pastry blender (or drop it all into a food processor) until the butter is in coarse crumbs.  Stir in the milk and candied ginger.

Slap it on the counter and pat it about an inch thick.  Cut out rounds with a cookie cutter.  Slip the biscuits onto a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  Sprinkle the tops with more sugar.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes, until they are golden around the edges.

Eat them them while they’re hot with plenty of butter and honey!  (good toasted up in the toaster oven the next morning).

6 thoughts on “Ginger Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Pear Muffins with Crystalized Ginger | The Thankful Heart

Leave a Reply

