Chocolate Zucchini Cake

IMG_3795

Hi friends–  I don’t know if you’re like me, but the second fall peeks around the corner, you get the baking bug.  I’m just looking for excuses to pop something sweet into the oven.  And this is my favorite style of cake to bake up– simple, sweet and easy.  I’d like to say that it’s “oh so healthy” with all that grated zucchini– but we know it’s CAKE.  So, in any case, if you are looking for something yummy to put in your oven (seeing as it’s almost fall) you might like this chocolaty cake as much as I did!

CHOCOLATE ZUCCHINI CAKE
2 cups grated zucchini (about 2 medium)
2 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa*
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 3/4 cups sugar
1 cup oil
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup buttermilk**

1 cup chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups walnuts, chopped to bits
powered sugar for dusting

Grate the zucchini and set it aside.  then Stir together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Then mix in the oil, eggs, vanilla and buttermilk.  Finally fold in the zucchini, chocolate chips and walnuts.

Spoon the mixture into a 9″ x 13″ cake pan*** sprayed with cooking spray.  Then set it into a 350 degree oven for 40 to 50 minutes until it comes out firm to the touch.  When it’s cooled, dust the top with powdered sugar through a sieve.  This cake tastes even better with a big spoonful of ice cream nestled up next to it.

IMG_3821*I love the Hershy’s extra dark cocoa
**You can substitute 1/2 cup regular milk with a splash of cider vinegar for the buttermilk.
*** I made just half a recipe for the cake in the photo– so I could used a smaller springform pan.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Cake

  1. I’ve heard of zucchini cake, but with chocolate??–what’s not to love? This looks great! A friend of mine used to bake zucchini pie… do you have a good recipe of that? I’d love to try making it.

  2. I have the baking bug throughout the year! though it does become almost like an addiction in cold weather. chocolate and zucchini is one of my favourite combinations (only in cake though :D)

Leave a Reply

