Creamy Coconut Cake

IMG_4683Hello there–  Let’s talk about coconut!  I was once one of those picky kids who wouldn’t eat coconut– but I’ve changed my ways.  And this creamy, sweet, cool cake taken straight from the fridge is enough to convince any coconut-phobe that it’s worth a try!  And if they don’t like it, well that’s A-OK– more creamy coconutty cake for you!

CREAMY COCONUT CAKE
1 white cake mix
eggs, oil, water– ingredients on the cake mix recipe
15 oz. can of cream of coconut (not coconut milk)
1 pint heavy whipping cream
2 tsp. instant vanilla pudding mix
2 tsp. powdered sugar
2 cups coconut

Make the white cake according to the directions on the box, using the eggs, oil and water.  Then stir in just one cup of the coconut.  Spoon the batter into a 9″x13″ baking pan (or a large springform pan) sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake it 25 to 30 minutes until browned on top and firm to the touch.

Poke nice polite holes in the top of the cake with a narrow handled wooden spoon– then shake the can of cream of coconut to be sure it’s thoroughly mixed and pour it over the cake slowly so it soaks in.

Let the cake cook completely (I usually make it the night before then I don’t have to impatiently wait for it to cool down).  Beat the whipping cream with the instant pudding mix and the powdered sugar, using an electric mixer.  When it’s well beaten and pretty firm, spoon the whipped cream over the cooked cake and sprinkle on the remaining cup of coconut.  Keep refrigerated until you’re ready to serve it up.

9 thoughts on “Creamy Coconut Cake

  1. I like coconut…always have!!!! I am going to make this cake for our Connection Group that meets next Tuesday evening. And I will take your lead and bake the cake on Monday evening! I’ll let you know how it turns out!!! 🙂

  2. Oh my!!!!! I really do hate to brag..but…the creamy coconut cake was fantastic!!!!!! In my humble opinion,
    it came close to being the best cake I ever made!!!! I am a real lover of a moist cake, and the fact that this one was coconut was sheer bliss!!! My C/G group loved it, too!!!!!! None left for the grandkids so guess I’ll have to do a repeat performance!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

