The Best Cranberry Bread

IMG_6334Hi friends–  I know it sounds a bit “boast-y” to call this the BEST cranberry bread.  But I’ve been making Christmas cranberry bread for almost 40 years now– making minor changes here and there along the way.  And I think this must be the yummiest version of good old cranberry bread yet.  I made a few loaves up at Ani’s in SF this weekend.  And today I have some  ten little round loaves tucked in the oven right now for friends.  Can you tell I love this stuff?  I think you might think it’s pretty good too…

THE BEST CRANBERRY BREAD
2 cups of flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup of orange juice
the grated peel of one orange
1 1/3 cup cranberries, cut in half
1 cup of walnuts, chopped coarsely

In a large bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Then stir in the egg and orange juice.  Last, fold in the orange peel, cranberries and nuts.  Spoon it into a standard loaf pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  And bake it up at 325 degrees for 50 to 60 minutes until if golden and cooked through.

I love this bread sliced and toasted for breakfast.  The photo is on Ani’s breakfast table– along with a cup of 8 oz. cream cheese beaten together with 1/2 cup orange marmalade.  It makes the perfect topping– when you’re not counting your calories!

14 thoughts on “The Best Cranberry Bread

  1. I’m making 10 small loaves of this tomorrows gifts for my small group. I’ve wanted the perfect recipe…and without even trying it I KNOW this is it!!!! I’ll let you know how it turns out!!!!

  2. Pingback: Cranberry Cream Cake |

  3. Hi Rhonda ~ Could you expound on the ten little “round” loaves in the oven…size of pans…are they tin…did you double or triple the recipe? Curious because I like to bake for people too and this sounds and looks like it would be lovely to give. I can almost smell it through my computer screen 🙂

  4. Hey Brenda– Just made this to take up to the kids for Thanksgiving– The round loaves were some cardboard Christmasy pans I picked up at Target last Christmas, about 5″ across. This recipe makes one standard loaf pan of bread. The littlest foil pans from the grocery store work for 4 loaves from one recipe. And Target has rectangular baking cardboard pans for Christmas and two of those would take one recipe. Does that make sense? Happy Baking.

    P.S. How was your Thanksgiving with the kids?

  5. Oh thank you dear Rhonda ~ makes perfect sense! Thanksgiving was wonderful. So nice to all be together since last Christmas. I know you can relate to that with your family being far apart. When it happens, I am thankful. Thank you for blogging your recipes and lifes journeys…:@

Leave a Reply

