Orange Currant Scones

IMG_6589Hello one and all– Have you been watching Downton Abbey?  I have to admit, a few people I know (myself included) are totally taken with that show.  So when the first new episode aired a couple weeks back, there was a crowd around the coffee table in our family room.  And the table was overflowing with tea cups and cream and scones and pots of hot tea…  We sipped our way back into the threads of stories upstairs and down.  We were charmed.

And I found this recipe from from Butchart Gardens in British Columbia.  These scones seemed just the thing to nibble on with our tea.  And they were as good as I had hoped– tender and slightly sweet.  Just right with piles of whipped cream and marmalade and berries.

ORANGE CURRANT SCONES
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 sticks butter (3/4 cup)
1/2 cup whole milk
2 eggs*
1/2 cup dried currants
grated peel from 1 orange

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Cut in the butter with a pastry blender (or in a food processor, if you don’t mind cleaning it all up afterwards).  Stir in the milk and eggs.  And finally mix in the currants and orange peel.

Stir just until it all sticks together in a big clump and turn it out onto your counter.  Cut into scones with a cookie cutter and set them onto an ungreased baking sheet at least an inch apart.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15 to 17 minutes until they are golden.  Serve them warm from the oven with lots of jam or berries or butter or whipped cream— or any combination of those yummy toppings.

6 thoughts on “Orange Currant Scones

  1. hello Rhonda – welcome back, I for one missed your posts and admit to searching from time to time on the reader to see if I had perchance missed one. Impressed by the photo of the young lady with the quilt, it seems down south the world is still a very different place to where I am. Cannot imagine anyone quilting here – shame. Re scones, I recently had a delightful high tea in a local hotel, they try hard but even though they are very high end they cannot manage to replicate an English high tea experience. Despite the lovely minton china. Anyway good scones are wonderful, and your recipe looks mouthwatering and I will try them soon. Just need to up the exercise 🙂

    • Thanks for reading Polianthus– you know I love your beautiful blog posts– OK, so where was high tea? On your Ireland trip? Back home? We had perfect scones at a couple little bakeries in Dublin when I was there with my daughter. But I would love, love to sit through a real “high tea” someday.”

      • Thank you Rhonda – high tea was here in Switzerland, relatively recent import offered by very high end hotels – so the ambiance is beautiful the service is good but not comparable to great English houses and the scones are sadly really well below par. I had some beautiful scones in Ireland as well. A few years ago my younger sister took me to London for a snow filled birthday weekend and one of the highlights was the high tea at Browns – https://www.roccofortehotels.com/hotels-and-resorts/browns-hotel/restaurants-and-bars/english-tea-room/ – if you are ever over there or passing through you might enjoy the atmosphere, the elegance and the scones and clotted cream. PS the high tea this week was in honour of my sisters birthday. You just made me realise. Thank you

  2. Your scones do look really good, there is an art to scone and biscuit making. Mine are always dry and heavy. I do love the orange and currants and they look very light and moist. Will try this recipe.

  3. Polianthus–Tea with your sister–sounds like a perfect day out. Does your sister live near you? The website for Browns was amazing!! I’d love to sit there with my sis, or my daughters to enjoy it someday. Thanks for the link. You’re making me want to plan a London trip…

Leave a Reply

