Lemon Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

IMG_6770Hello there– This may look like an unassuming little chunk of cake, but there is a whole lot of flavor and creaminess in this little slice–4 doses of lemon juice, not to mention the cream cheese (one of my personal favorite recipe ingredients!).  It’s tenderly delicious.

And if you have a friend with a lemon tree, who loves to bring you tidy little paper bags, stuffed with fresh lemons, this may be just the recipe for you this time of year.

LEMON CREAM CHEESE COFFEE CAKE

Cream Cheese layer:
8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp. lemon juice*

Crumble topping:
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 tab. butter, (room temperature)
1 tab. grated lemon peel
1 tab. lemon juice

Cake:
1 1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 cup canola oil
1 egg
1/2 cup buttermilk**
1 tab. grated lemon peel
1 tab. lemon juice

Drizzle:
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tab. lemon juice

IMG_6744To make the cream cheese layer, just mix all 4 ingredients up with an electric mixer and set is aside.

For the crumble topping, mix together the flour and sugar in a small bowl.  Cut in the butter with a pastry blender or 2 forks until it looks like coarse crumbs.  Then stir in the lemon peel and juice. Set aside as well.

Mix up the cake by stirring together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Then mix in the oil, egg and buttermilk.  And finally, fold in the grated lemon peel and lemon juice.

To put it all together, spoon the cake batter into a 9″square (or round) baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Carefully spread the cream cheese layer on top.  Then with your fingers sprinkle on the crumble topping.

Pop it in the oven at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes until it just starts to brown and is firm to the touch.    Let it cool an few minutes.

While it’s cooling, stir together the powdered sugar and 1 tablespoon lemon juice for the drizzle glaze and then drizzle the powdered sugar mixture over the top and serve it up warm and lemony!

*I managed to peel off and squeeze all the grated peel and lemon juice needed from one large lemon.  If you have smaller lemons, it will probably take two of them.
**If you don’t find buttermilk in your fridge (like me), substitute by putting a couple tablespoons of cider vinegar into your measuring cup and filling it up with milk to 1/2 cup.  Let it sit a couple minutes to thicken.

14 thoughts on “Lemon Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

  1. Oh my cruel blogging friend – it’s 10 degrees outside, and despite taking out my virtual binoculars – nope no friends in sight with lemon trees, no lemon trees in sight indeed, and oh, there is nothing but mud and mushy green grass to be seen, apart from of course the buds on the trees that promise me spring. So no lemons, the cake looks heavenly as usual. I am focusing on lentils, kidney beans, mung beans, chickpeas and all things healthy at the moment, so I will have to give this a miss. 😦

  2. Well, I wish I had a friend with a lemon tree but alas in Brooklyn a lemon tree does not grow., however they are plentiful in the supermarket. This is a lovely cake, love coffee cakes and have never had a citrus/lemon coffee cake. Sounds amazing.

  3. WOW. I mean, you had me at “lemon” but throw in “cream cheese” and “coffee cake” and I am in heaven! I will definitely make this asap, but I think I should wait until we have company so my husband and I don’t eat the whole thing ourselves!

  4. Lemon tree? I would love to see a lemon tree…at this point I would love to see any kind of green tree!!! But it looks delicious. I think I will have to just go buy lemons and cream cheese and whip this up for our group tonight.

  5. Pingback: February 2014: A Review | Once in a Blue Spoon

Leave a Reply

