Coconut Curry Lentil Soup

IMG_7998

Hello there– Is it still soup weather where you live?  After  a warm winter here, it’s dipping down into the 60’s this week– and it’s suppose to rain today!!  Boy, do we need rain.
So to celebrate our chilly, soggy day ahead, here’s a nice light soup–sounds about right for a drizzly spring day.

COCONUT CURRY LENTIL SOUP
2 cups lentils
splash olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, cut to bits
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup tomato sauce
7 cups water
1 can coconut milk
1 tsp. yellow curry powder
14 oz. can garbanzo beans
1 tab. lime juice
lime slices & cilantro for garnish

Heat the olive oil in the bottom of your soup pot.  When it’s hot, throw in the onion.  Cook it 3 to 4 minutes until the onion bits cook through.  Then add in the red pepper and garlic.  Cook 3 minutes more.

Pour in the tomato sauce, water, coconut milk, curry powder, garbanzo beans and lentils.  Bring it to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes until the lentils are tender.

When you’re ready to serve it up hot, add in the lime juice and top each bowl with some sprigs of cilantro.

17 thoughts on “Coconut Curry Lentil Soup

  1. To Suzanne at puninthekitchen…on evernote can you say…auto generate a grocery list from the recipes by tagging them or using the search mode? Are you using the free evernote or did you purchase the premium evernote…very curious. I scanned the web but really could not find the answer I was seeking. Probably because I have not downloaded it yet, but thought I would ask first. Thanks for the tip…brenda

  2. Hey Rhonda…I am in my kitchen this very minute making this Coconut Curry Lentil Soup but I am noticing that you have not listed curry as an ingredient. Was that intentional? If not, how much curry powder? 🙂

    • Oh gosh Brenda–thanks! It’s one tsp. curry powder. Hope you like it– I thought it was a fun change–bright flavor. Laurel’s here from Chicago this week and she said it’s in the 70’s there– hooray! Hope you’re enjoying it.

  3. I loved it…am making it again right now…added 1/2 tsp. curry powder, 1/2 to 3/4 tsp cumin, pinch of cayenne, and some fresh ginger…am making half recipe cuz its just me 😛

  4. ps…put in some black beans because that’s what I had and I love the color against the pretty red pepper….thanks Rhonda….Have a blessed Easter 🙂

  5. pss…wooops I added a 1/2 tsp. of turmeric…I did all that the first time because I didn’t know how much curry or anything else I should add. Smells amazing and tastes wonderful on this blustery day in IL.

Leave a Reply

