Blueberry Lemon Bread

IMG_7843Hello all–  I dredged this recipe out of the old family favorites– my mom would make it when we were 4 kids at home.  And with an anniversary just past, it made me remember our wedding, 39 years ago.

It was big–nearly 700 people.  And my amazing mom, baked ahead for weeks with the help of a friend’s big freezer– all kinds of breads and sweets, including this lemon bread.  It was a homemade wedding–my seamstress of a sister sewed up my dress for $25.  And I drew the invitations for a friend to print.

I don’t know why I’m going on like this.  But the lemon bread got me to remembering…

It’s sweet and so lemony with the glaze on top– and with this recent addition of blueberries adds another bit of sweetness.  I think you’d like it.

BLUEBERRY LEMON BREAD
1/2 cup canola oil*
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1  2/3 cups flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
peel grated off 1 lemon
6 oz. blueberries (about a cup)

Glaze:
juice of one lemon
1/4 cup sugar

Stir together the oil, sugar, eggs, and milk.  Then mix in the flour, salt and baking powder.  Finally blend in the lemon peel and blueberries.

Spoon the batter into a standard bread pan (I like to use two smaller 7″ pans) that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake it in a 350 degree oven for 35 for 40 minutes until it is firm to the touch.

While the bread is still hot from the oven, stir together the lemon juice and 1/4 cup sugar.  Drizzle it over the hot lemon bread and let it cool in the pan and soak up all the glaze.

This lemony bread just begs for a mug of tea and a book.  Enjoy!

*The original recipe–from my mom– calls for 1/2 cup butter, melted in place of the oil.  So if you want a richer loaf, butter it is!  (I think the oil is A-OK).

23 thoughts on “Blueberry Lemon Bread

  1. I love lemon and blueberry. That combo is everywhere these days ! Your Mom was a woman before her time. I look forward to this bread soon! Im thinking Saturday! Lol. Thanks for sharing with us.
    Katie

  2. Rhonda, I love it when you “go on”. Those are the gems! We talked about your mom, her baking, and those cute bridesmaid dresses during our walk on Balboa Island a few weeks ago. What fun!

  3. Rhonda ~ What a precious memory…could you possibly post a picture of the wedding dress and invitation? Your Mom is amazing and so it Lou Lou…cannot wait to try the blueberry lemon bread! Thanks…:)

  4. What a georgous & lovely wedding you must have had! Your mom must have worked a lot preparing for your lovely sounding wedding!

    Congrats on your Anniversary too!

    What a beautiful lemon & blueberry bread! It looks very delicious too! xxx

Leave a Reply

