Loving People

IMG_0234Hello there– I’m an avid reader of the blog, Flower Patch Farmgirl, following the true and honest renderings of the writer’s full but simple life.  She knows what’s important.  This week she included this poster a friend made for her.  It set me to thinking.

Loving people sounds easy enough.  Just open up your arms for hugs, be encouraging and do your best to take care of them.  But I find myself holding back, guarding my own time, taking better care of my own wants.

If I’m going to do this loving right, I can’t just pretend to love people, I have to go for it wholeheartedly.  Lord have mercy.  I need help again.

Then I ran across this:

“The fact is I need God to love God.  And if I need his help to love him, a perfect being, I definitely need his help to love other fault-filled humans.”  —Francis Chan (Crazy Love)

OK, so it’s not easy.  But what is more worthwhile than loving the people God has given to me?  It’s my most important calling (with God’s help)…

“Dear friends, since God loved us, we also ought to love one another.”  –-I John 4:11

P.S.  Here’s the link, so you can read Shannan’s inspirational, funny, inventive life blog.
 http://www.flowerpatchfarmgirl.com

5 thoughts on “Loving People

  1. “But I find myself holding back, guarding my own time, taking better care of my own wants.” this, precisely.

    it makes me feel selfish, but some times I find it very difficult to be just as gracious to other people’s needs. patience and persistence!

  2. I agree ladies…the loving gets even harder to live when we have been wronged, not by just non-Christian, but by the “ought to know better” Christian. It becomes even more difficult to love as it requires honesty at all levels. Being loving is saying the hard, true things to the world and to fellow Christians (all in love and not with the hate in our hearts). Yes Rhonda…LORD have mercy, we need your help to love as You loved.

Leave a Reply

