Asparagus Lemon Chicken & Pasta

IMG_9462Hi all– Yet another pasta recipe.  I can’t help it.  I love a noodle-y meal.  This one tastes light and fresh for summer.  We had it for a Sunday lunch with the family– but I’m picturing a rerun on a summer evening out under the maple trees with a table full of hungry friends.

ASPARAGUS LEMON CHICKEN & PASTA
2 boneless,skinless chicken breast
2 tab. olive oil
salt & freshly ground pepper
1 bunch asparagus
1/4 cup olive oil
3 cloves garlic
1/3 cup parmesan-romano
grated rind from 1 lemon
5 tab. lemon juice
1/3 cup pine nuts
3 green onions, green parts sliced to bits
16 oz. pasta

Cook the your favorite pasta according to the instructions on the box. (I usually end up with angel fair– my fave)

Heat the 2 tab. olive oil in a skillet, while you cut the chicken into nice polite chunks.  Then cook the chicken in the skillet, dousing it with a few good shakes of salt and grinds of fresh pepper.  Remove the chicken from the skillet to a plate for later.

Break the woody end off of the asparagus stalks. Cut off the tender asparagus tips and set aside.  The slice the stalks on the diagonal into small bites.

In the same skillet, cook the sliced asparagus stalks and the garlic  in the oil left from the chicken for just 2 or 3 minutes until they are tender.

Then mix in the asparagus tips, 1/4 cup olive oil, parmesan, lemon rind, juice, chicken and pine nuts.  Heat just a minute or two to warm it all through.  The stir in the green onion and serve it all up on a pretty platter over the cooked pasta.

Add in a bright summer salad and some sturdy bread, a glass of wine and some friends in the backyard.  Perfect.

IMG_9469

15 thoughts on “Asparagus Lemon Chicken & Pasta

  1. I’m with you. I can’t help myself when it comes to pasta. I really like this one. It seems like a dish you put together out of instinct. I love cooking like this. Such wonderful flavors and very nice looking too!

    • I like the way you described that– putting together out of instinct. It’s simple and you just figure what part cooks when. I’m going to think about that when I make anything new…

  2. Hey there Rhonda ~ Lovely dish that I’m wishing to make, but I something is amiss in the instructions or perhaps the ingredients list. Where do you add in the 1/4 cup of olive oil? Always reading your wonderful posts and enjoying every word and photo! 💕💕💕

    Happy cooking, baking, writing and creating,

  3. HI Brenda– so so fun to hear from you!! Sorry for the mix up– I’m just a Grandma Rose when it comes to attention to detail! (if you know what I mean). So I fixed it. Hope you enjoy the dish!! And hugs to you and Gretchyn and that Derek. Love you all. xo

Leave a Reply

