Chicken, Hominy & Avocado Salad

IMG_9292Hi all– I really didn’t know what to call this salad we had for dinner– So I just picked out my 3 favorite ingredients and tossed them into the title.  It does have a lot of other yummy things in there too, including a lime-cilantro dressing.  Use a roasted chicken from the market and it’s dinner on the table in 20 minutes.   Summer time dinner- easy, fast & fresh.

CHICKEN, HOMINY & AVOCADO SALAD
1/2  chicken from the market, already roasted*
6 cups of your favorite greens
14 oz. can yellow hominy**
1 avocado (or 2 if you love them as much as we do)
12 cup diced red bell pepper
14 cup radish, sliced thin

Dressing:
1/2 cup olive oil
1 large lime, juiced
a few shakes of salt
a few grinds of freshly ground pepper
1 tsp. sugar
3 tab. cilantro, chopped fine

Take the chicken off of the bone and chop it into nice little chunks>

Then on a pretty platter, layer the greens, chicken, hominy, avocado, red pepper and radishes.

Shake the dressing ingredients together in a container with a tight fitting lid until it is thoroughly blended.

Dress the salad just before you serve it-  Happy summer eating!!

*We used the other half of the chicken for tacos the next night.
** If you don’t know hominy — It’s in the Mexican section of the market– like BIG kernels of corn that have a potato-ish edge to their flavor.  I think it tastes nice & homey.

6 thoughts on “Chicken, Hominy & Avocado Salad

  1. I’ve never tried hominy! Sounds delicious… I initially thought that you had chickpeas in the salad but hominy sounds even better. As for the post title, I often think the same thing (“uh, what to call it? I’ll just pick some of the ingredients!”) when I attempt to name dishes that I make! Looks beautiful though, I love everything about this! Have a wonderful 4th July tomorrow xx

    • Thanks Laura– I grew up with church cookbooks with names like “spinach surprise” or “donut delight” — but I think simple ingredients are a more helpful title– Happy 4th to you as well!! Hope includes lots of good food!

Leave a Reply

