Cooking with the Grand-girls

IMG_8444 Hello there– There’s been a lot of cooking going on around here.  And most days I can lure one of the grand-girls in to be my assistant to stir up bunch of muffins or to cut up fruit for dinner.  They are enthusiastic mixers and surprised me that they can pretty well crack eggs into a cake all  on their own (well, most of the time).  I’ll just say it’s been loads of fun!

IMG_9295     IMG_9277Charlotte specializes in cutting up fruit and making it “fancy” on the plate.

IMG_9811     IMG_8468Maryann spreads the pizza dough.  Says it’s just like using play dough. (Notice how elegantly she cooks in her princess dress that plays Cinderella music with a touch to her jewels! )  And even Joby contributes, mixing up the muffins with a firm stir.

So I’ve found out 5 and 7 year olds can chop potatoes, trim string beans, mix up muffins and cakes, spread frosting, cut up fruit, help prepare pizza dough and set the table.  I think we have some fine little cooks on our hands…

18 thoughts on “Cooking with the Grand-girls

    • HI Anne– yep, they were all born in China and moved here end of March– so this is the first real extended time we’ve had together. I’m happily enjoying crazy times with 3 girls…

  1. I’m inspired by this. I’ve really been trying to include Andrew and Gracie in the kitchen more this summer and I’m not super patient. I’m much more efficient and successful on my own…but they love it and I want them to learn!!

Leave a Reply

