Cherry Pecan Scones

IMG_9833Hello all– My dear buddy Debbie has a daughter getting married soon.  So last Friday we spent the morning making jars of blackberry jam to give all the friends who come celebrate together at the wedding.  The kitchen was awash in crushed berries and and sterilizing jars…  After a bit, we got into the rhythm of bubbling up that jam and filling those jars and we had a table full by the end of the morning.

So when I showed up at her door that morning for the jam-fest, I thought it was important to have a plate of scones to pair with a sampling of that luscious jam!  A little taste test…

CHERRY PECAN SCONES
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1  1/2 sticks butter (3/4 cup)
1/2 cup whole milk
2 eggs*
2/3 cup fresh cherries, pitted & quartered
1/2 cup pecan, chopped fine

IMG_9829In a large mixing bowl stir together the flour sugar, baking powder and salt.

Then with a pastry blender cut in the butter (if the butter is cold from the fridge, microwave it just a few seconds to soften a bit).

Stir in the eggs and milk.  And finally fold in the cherries and pecans.

Cut the dough in half.  Then drop half the dough on to a well floured counter.  Shape it into a circle and cut into 6 pie shaped scones.  Repeat with the second half of the dough.

Put them at least 1 inch apart (they do spread!) on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake them up at 375 degrees for 15 to 18 minutes.  Until they are golden and firm to the touch.

Serve them hot with butter or whipped cream–and pots of your best jam.  Perfect.

* I know– it’s weird to put eggs in scones!  But I got this recipe (with slight variations) from the Empress Hotel in British Columbia– famous for their scones. Trust me.

18 thoughts on “Cherry Pecan Scones

  1. Your scones look great, I will admit I am a terrible scone and biscuit maker, my daughter likens them to paper weights and hockey pucks. I don’t know what I do wrong and I wish they would turn out like yours.

    • OK Suzanne, the most remarkable thing about that post is that you have a daughter and she is old enough to know about paper weights and hockey pucks. You look to young to have a biscuit disparaging daughter! (Do you have any other children hanging out at your house?)

    • Hi– I crust looked through your blog and found 2 delicious looking scone recipes!!– I’d really like to try the vanilla lemon scones. I’ll have to read through some more recipes… thanks.

      • Oh thank you- so try the lemon ones, they are amazing! I have actually just adapted your cherry one, substituting almonds for pecans and was going to write it up in metric measures and using my thermomix. Are you happy with me giving you a pingback to your blog? They ARE delicious!! Anne

  2. Pingback: You can never have too many cake pans.. | vannillarock

Leave a Reply

