Peach & Blackberry Clafoutis

IMG_0049Hello all–  Peaches.  They are so so sweet and juicy right now and I picked up 3 juicy ample ones at the market.  So Jobay (my 2 1/2 year old assistant in the kitchen) and I mixed up this fruity dessert for after dinner tonight.

I loved all the sweet fruit and warm custard– but the 3 grand-girls were most interested in how to whip cream.  “How do you know how to do that Grandma Rhonda?”  “How does it turn “hard” into whipped cream?”  “Can I hold the mix we too so I can make whipped cream?”…

PEACH & BLACKBERRY CLAFOUTIS
1 1/2 pound yellow peaches
6 oz. blackberries (a little more than a cup)
1 tab. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
4 eggs
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup cream*
powdered sugar to dust the top

Slice the peaches (no need to peel them) into a bowl.  Add the blackberries and stir in the 1 tablespoon of sugar.

Then in another bowl, with an electric mixer beat together the vanilla, eggs, milk, flour, salt, sugar and cream.

Transfer the fruit into a 2 1/2 quart baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Then carefully pour the cream mixture over the top.

Pop it into the oven at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes until the custard is set.  Let it sit at least 5 minutes and then dust with powdered sugar through a sieve.   Spoon it out into bowls and enjoy!

If you have whipping cream left in your carton– whip it up to serve along with the clafoutis–and top with a couple berries.

–and the secret ingredient in whipped cream is to add 1 tsp. of vanilla instant pudding dry mix.  It stabilizes the cream to stay stiff and beautiful until it’s time to serve it up.

IMG_0030P.S.– did you spot the photographer in the bowl of the spoon?

16 thoughts on “Peach & Blackberry Clafoutis

  1. Oh Rhonda, that clafoutis is beautiful, I love blackberries and peaches or nectarines together and in a creamy clafoutis, absolutely delicious. Yes, after looking really hard I did spot the photographer in the spoon.LOL!

    • Hey Suzanne- aren’t you loving peaches about now? Hope you are really enjoying summer. (I’m up in SF right now visiting our kids with the grand-girls in tow. We’re off to the zoo today!)

  2. oh that looked so divine I wanted to run to the kitchen, grab a spoon and run right back to plunge it into my screen through to your kitchen and eat the whole bowl before you turned round again. i imagine the warm creaminess of the clafoutis the tartness of the blackberry, the sweetness of the perfumed peach and vanilla cream – all coming together as one big wonderul melange of texture and taste…….hmm (I had fresh pineapple for dessert, I guess I am a glutton..)

  3. What a beautiful and elegant (but do-able) dessert! One of the things I like about summer is all the fruit desserts and snacks… like this one! (So funny, your photo in the spoon! Made me smile… I felt like I was playing one of those “where’s Waldo” books).

    • I know Daisy– in summer it’s atonal switch from apples or chocolate for dessert to all the luscious fruits. This is so easy– would be more elegant in little individual ramekins–with cream. Might give that a try.

  4. My mom just made a blueberry clafoutis & I loved it & I happen to have all the ingredients in the house so I Will make this lovely clafoutis! I also have ripe blackberries from my own garden!
    MMMMMMMMMMM! 😃

Leave a Reply

