Thanking God

IMG_8707

Hello friends– I’ve been thinking about worshipping our God. It seems some other more saintly people, that I know and love, just have that constant flow of worship to God.  But stopping to praise him, to worship– It seemed too monumental, too important.  Well, and I’m so easily distracted pulled away by the immediate things around me…  Where to begin?  How to do it well in the moments of my day?

But reading recently I was given the idea to simply thank God for two things: Who he is and What he does.  That is the heart of worship. It doesn’t have to be complicated, just sincere thanks.  There’s a lot of joy to be found in those times of simple thank yous.  God is good.

“Worship is the believer’s response of all that they are–mind, emotions, will, body– to what God is and says and does.”   –Warren Wiersbe (pastor, writer born 1920)

“Give thanks to the Lord, call on his name; …Remember the wonders he has done.”
–Psalm 105:1 & 5

.

P.S.  Photo from an evening in San Francisco last year

 

6 thoughts on “Thanking God

  1. Rhonda this was awesome and beautiful and raw and sincere all at once. My thanks in worship today…thankful that Dad God intersected our lives long ago…and that I get to keep in touch with one of the dearest friends i know. Love this beautiful photo of San Francisco, too. I’ve never had the opportunity to visit, but now that I’ve seen such beauty, I must put it on my bucket list! Is it the bay? Love you!

      • I have not read the book (yet), but her blog has been a huge blessing to me many times. If you haven’t seen it, it’s aholyexperience.com. It’s always good, but On Sundays, she does the “Multivitamins for your soul” — it’s wonderful for me, when we get back late at night from counseling pastors and/or ccongregations who are in conflict or crisis, to just sit and read through those “Multivitamins”… puts things in perspective again, reminds me that God is a masterful Creator and a he has loved us “with an everlasting love” (Jer. 31:3) and desires us to know him.

Leave a Reply

