Falling into Fall

fall-wallpapers-hd-autumn-600x337.

“Fall has always been my favorite season,the time when everything bursts with it’s last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for it’s grand finale.” –Lauren DeStefano

Hi friends– It’s here.  My favorite season.  Fall.  Or call it Autumn if you’re feeling fancy.  Cooler days, cozy sweaters, fires burning in the hearth, mugs of tea and all that apple-y baking!  I’m happily anticipating the next few months.

So I’m making plans.  Or hopes or even happy dreams.  And writing them down to step into all the fall days that lie ahead…

Here’s thea list:

#1.  Carve some silly pumpkin faces with the grand-girls
#2.  Spend an evening over mulled wine with old friends
#3.  Take long walks through the leaves at Craig Park
#4.  Mail off Halloween treats and pumpkin notes to our kids far from home.
#5.  Bake a Dutch apple pie
#6.  Go to a Cal football game against UCLA with Ani & Brian (Go Bears!!)
#7.  Have friends in for soup by the fire place
#8.  Pick that Laurel up at the airport and bring her home to celebrate her BIG birthday!!
(the pumpkin dessert will be ready in the kitchen when you get here girl!)
#9.  Go for a Big Bear weekend of reading under pine trees rustling in the wind
#10. Make a cake to celebrate with Micah for his birthday!!
#11.  Bake a loaf of that crusty Dutch oven bread
#12.  Make a visit to play & read with baby Mae in SF
#13. Eat corn candy
#14. Decorate the house with leaves from the maples in the yard
#15.  Find an occasion to make that Pumpkin Tiramisu
#16.  Sit with a book on the sofa the first time it rains
#17. Send notes to dear friends to say how thankful I am for them
#18. Make Thanksgiving dinner place cards with the grand-girls
#19.Make a November Thankful Heart Chart– filled with blessings
#20. Gather as many family and friends as I can manage around our Thanksgiving table

So enormously thankful for this fresh new season and the particular joys it brings… God is good.

P.S.  The photo is thanks to Fox archives and looks nothing like fall here in southern California!  (But I’d like to be wherever it is!)

12 thoughts on “Falling into Fall

  1. Ciao Rhonda. I really like the list of ‘hopes’ or ‘happy dreams’ you shared with us! I especially liked #2, 7, 14, 15, 17 and 20 even if in Italy, unfortunately, we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving Day. I like the idea of spending as much time as possible with friends and the loved ones! And the idea of sending notes to dear friends to say how thankful we are for them is an idea I will soon make my own!

    • So sweet Simona– thanks for your note. I agree–Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday here and it’s so worthwhile to stop and tell people who much they mean to us… Happy fall in Italy– wish I could see it all there!

  2. Great photo and it took my breath away. I love your list and the idea of spending it with your family and friends. I wish to experience fall, spring or even winter in the near the future. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    • Hi Lilly– fun to hear from you– I know. Isn’t this fall picture stunning. I didn’t take it (borrowed it!) but would love to be in that beautiful place. And hope you find a real fall in your travels to come…

  3. Stunning pictures! We call it ‘Autumn’ in Australia, though with the Southern Hemisphere seasons it’s actually Springtime right now (weird, huh?!). Though in saying that, I’m in Scotland as I write. The autumn/fall colours are definitely blushing on the horizon as the weather gradually cools. You’ve added a beautiful photo here! Love the list, too! xx

  4. Sounds like a GREAT list you’ve compiled there!!! The picture is beautiful. Love fall time too. Heading to Lynwood Classes of 73, 74 & 75 Reunion tomorrow night to kick fall off. ❤

Leave a Reply

