Chicken Enchilada Soup

IMG_2573Hello all–  This week our young mom’s group* got together after our summer hiatus.  I made a major pot of soup (did I really think we’d eat that much?!) and set the table, but I didn’t know it would be a celebration dinner– Esther and her Brian finally signed the adoptions papers this week for their little guy– it’s been 3 years of unbelievable ups and downs.  We all couldn’t have been more thrilled!!

So this simple chunky soup became a special occasion supper– I think it was yummy enough to measure up– along with a bright fruity green salad and some orange poppy seed cornbread.  So happy for Esther and her sweet family!

CHICKEN ENCHILADA SOUP
splash olive oil
1 yellow onion, chopped fine
2 cloves garlic
1/4 cup yellow corn meal
3 cups chicken broth
14 0z. can green enchilada sauce**
14 oz. black beans
14 oz. can corn
14 oz. can fire roasted tomatoes
1 tsp. cumin
2 cups cooked chicken, chopped to nice little bites***
1 cup cheddar shredded
salt to taste
toppings:  avocado, cheddar, cilantro, red onion, chopped tomatoes, chips…

Heat the oil in the bottom of a soup pot.  Throw in the onions and cook for 4 or 5 minutes until they are completely wilted, then drop in the garlic and cook a minute more.

Stir in the cornmeal.  Then stir in the chicken broth until it’s all blended and bubbling.  then add in the enchiladas sauce, black beans, corn, tomatoes and cumin.

I’m averse to big chunks of tomato floating in my soup, so I smoothed it all out with a stick blender at this point– but you can totally skip that if you’re found of tomatoes.

Then stir in the chicken and finally the cheddar.  Bring it to a simmer and taste to see if you want to add salt– I added just a 1/4 tsp.

It’s ready!!  So easy.  You can serve it with any or all of the garnishes– and with a fruity salad and a slab of cornbread on the side it’s a happy meal.

*It’s a young moms group– but I’m an old mentor mom in this group.

**I love Herdrez brand enchilada sauce (and their green salsa)
***Used a rotisserie chicken from the market, plus several cans of all those ingredients– makes the recipe so fast and easy.

IMG_2574

16 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada Soup

  1. I just finished making this soup. I already had some cooked garlic flavored chicken in my freezer. It was fast and just as delicious as when I had it at your housed! I’ll be serving mine with cornbread also. Thanks for a great recipe.

  2. Ohhh, I had forgotten about this soup, so delish and easy. Still hovering in the 80s here in the Midwest so as soon as cools off I will try your version. I have never tried it with the corn meal, just usually crunch some tortilla chips in at the end.

    • We’re with you here– we had a little dip in the weather –for our soup night– but this weekend it’s suppose to be in the high 90’s!! ugh. I want to put on a sweater and make a fire in the fireplace!!

  3. I made the soup Sunday, for a busy Monday evening. The verdict is out, this soup is on the regular rotation at my house. It got a thumbs up from Every household member!! Yeah. Thanks Rhonda.

  4. Just made this. . . for the second time since you posted it! 🙂 I’ve done it in the crock pot both times. Just threw the chicken in frozen and shredded it later. Came out delicious both times! Even the 2 year old likes it!

    • Oh you’re right Melanie– the crock pot would work perfectly with this soup. So glad it’s a hit– Hope you had a happy, happy birthday!! So fun to see all the pics of your girls from their biggest fan! (your sweet mom).

Leave a Reply

