Cream Cheese Pecan Bars

IMG_2584Hello there–  I’m saying right up front that pecans are my favorite kind of nut– and I am pretty nuts about all nuts in general.  (does that make sense?)  So take a pan full of pecans and layer them over a little cheese cake and a graham cracker crust and you’ve go a delectable winner.

Made these bars for friends last week, and I’m reluctant to admit that I kept nibbling away at the leftovers and ate most of them right out from under Larry’s nose.  They were THAT good.  (sorry Larry).  All that to say– I think you should try them.  I loved, loved them!

CREAM CHEESE PECAN BARS

Crust:
1 cup graham cracker crumbs (about 4)
1/4 cup sugar
4 tab. butter, melted

Cream cheese filling:
8 oz. cream cheese*
1/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup whole milk (0r half & half)
2 tsp. vanilla
2 tab. flour

Pecan layer:
1 cup chopped pecans (or a little handful more if you love nuts like I do!)
1/4 cup light corn syrup
2 tab. butter, melted
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
pinch of salt

IMG_2588Crush the graham cracker crumbs in a bag with a rolling pin or in your food processor.  Then in a bowl, stir them up with the sugar and 4 tab. melted butter.

Spread the moist crumbs over the bottom of a 7″x11″ pan (or a 9″ square) that has been sprayed with cooking spray to make a even thin layer.  Then put it in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes while you whip up the cream cheese layer.

With an electric mixer beat the cream cheese and sugar to a smooth paste.  Then beat in the eggs, milk, vanilla and flour.  Pour the mixture over the crust gently (so you don’t disturb the crust) when it comes out of the oven.

Pop it back into the oven for 25 minutes just until the cream cheese is set.  Then take it out and let the cream cheese layer cool for 20 minutes.

Next stir together the pecans, corn syrup, 2 tab. melted butter. brown sugar, 1 egg and salt.
Carefully spoon the pecan mixture over the cream cheese layer and send it back to the oven for another 20 to 25 minutes until the pecan layer is firm.

Let it cool an hour or so and then put it in the fridge to set up so you can cut it into neat little squares. (they do taste better chilled right out of the fridge)

A little whipped cream would turn it from cookie bar to full fledged dessert!!

17 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Pecan Bars

  1. oooh it seems like forwever since I last read a blog of yours Rhonda – and here I am finally finding another lovely recipe, love pecans – it reminds me of thanksgiving coming up 🙂

    • Poli– do you celebrate Thanksgiving?? I thought it was a Canadian/American holiday. It’s my favorite– low key, all about family and food on the table– and saying we are thankful to each other and to God. Draws me back to what’s important.

      • Hello my dear – no we dont celebrate it, but being in the states for a couple of years I learned to appreciate it, loved being invited to peoples houses, the sweet potatoes the pecan pie, the pumpkin pie the cranberries and turkey and the sitting and eating and being grateful together I think it a great holiday tradition so its one I like I might even do one this year, even if it is not traditional for us

  2. Ohhh my gosh. I can understand why you would’ve eaten most of these under Larry’s nose! They look incredible. That nutty, sweet and crunchy pecan layer looks way too good. I will definitely try these out (I imagine that you could switch out the nuts to include walnuts or other nuts too… if you can bear the thought of less pecans?!). Thanks for the recipe! xx

Leave a Reply

