Silence of the Heart

mother-teresa.
“In the silence of the heart God speaks.  If you face God in prayer and silence, God will speak to you.  Then you will know that you are nothing.  It is only when you realize your nothingness, your emptiness, that God can fill you with Himself.  Souls of prayer are souls of great silence.”        — Mother Teresa (from In the Heart of the World, Thoughts, Stories and Prayers)

Hello friends– Read this and it really stopped me in my tracks.  I have so very little silence in my life– Why do I fill it up with all those projects and errands??  How can God ever speak, if I’m not silent to listen.  It reminded me of a very favorite Psalm of mine–

“Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I call to you all day long.  Bring joy to your servant, for to you, O Lord, I lift up my soul.”  —Psalm 86:4

I’m needing  to find more silence in my days, to sit and listen to God– to lift up my soul.  Lord help me…

7 thoughts on “Silence of the Heart

  1. If you’re ever looking for a place to escape to where you can spend quiet time alone with God in an incredibly peaceful and God-inspiring location, check out Serra Retreat, a Franciscan retreat center in Malibu. You can spend the day on their beautiful grounds, or better yet, check into their affordable lodgings (where they serve very good food) and stay for a night or weekend. You’ll definitely find silence – and God – there.

  2. very soothing and pure, always inspired by Mother Teresa and by her work dedicated to humanity!! WILL TRY MY BEST TO CONTRIBUTE SOMETHING TO THE SOCIETY AND STAY PURE AT HEART!!

Leave a Reply

