Resolving

DSC00344Hello friends–  By now I’ve made my full share of unkept New Year’s resolutions. You too?  You’d think it’s time to give up on them.  But maybe it’s packing up the Christmas tree and setting the house back to rights, or having a couple restorative weeks away from school, or maybe just opening a new pristinely blank calendar– but this time of year still feels fresh and open…

So I’m taking a deep breath and setting down my hopes, my goals for this year– keeping it simple.  That’s an advantage of being 63– there’s a little perspective what whittles it down to what is truly important in my life– and what is happily optional.

I resolve just two things– to love God more, to stop to adore and worship him through my days ahead.  And to show love to the people I care for, my family far and wide, friends I share life with, students in my class every day.  If I can do that, it will be a worthwhile year.

“May your unfailing love rest upon us, O Lord,
even as we put our hope in you.”    –Psalm 33:22

.

P.S.– photo is from a Crystal Cove beach walk last week with Ani, Brian & Larry.

6 thoughts on “Resolving

  1. Rhonda, you have echoed the words of Jesus, “Love God with all you heart, soul, mind… and love your neighbor as yourself.” …in these two goals, all the 10 commandments are fulfilled. You have reminded us all of what’s really important.

Leave a Reply

