Faith in Things Unseen

Hi all– Been thinking so much about faith in these days–with so many friends facing difficult times, and seeing God’s goodness to them through it. It makes faith all the more precious, even more sustaining.

So I looked in the front fly leaf of my old Bible.  This is what I have written there….

st-augustine1“Faith is living for what you do not see–the reward of faith is seeing what you believe.”  
— St Augustine (340-403 A.D.)  Early Christian theologian, bishop and writer.

“Faith is the evidence of things hoped for, the assurance of things unseen.”  Hebrews 11:11

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen.  For what is seen in temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”  I Corinthians 4:18

The older I am, the more real and true and dear these thoughts are to me.  My faith is is in that I can not see, but in it, I have a real and true hope.  So thankful.

6 thoughts on “Faith in Things Unseen

Leave a Reply

