Easy Zucchini Lasagna

IMG_1133Hi there you all– I’m loving this zucchini lasagna because it’s a little lighter than my heavy duty standard, filled with sausage and all that spicy tomato.  I think this must be the summer version of lasagna– just in time for when all those zucchini start ripening in your side yard.

And it’s easy with no bake noodles, a sauce you just whiz up in the blender and grated zucchini that you don’t have to cook ahead.  You pretty much just throw it together– and make a salad while it’s in the oven– summer dinner!

P.S.  I know it’s not summer yet.  But all the teachers at school (that’s me) are anticipating summer break around the corner (and the kids are too!).  I guess it’s just on my mind!

EASY ZUCCHINI LASAGNA

Topping:
1/4 cup parmesan romano, grated
2 tab. bread crumbs
1/4 pine nuts

Sauce:
15 oz. ricotta cheese
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. dried basil
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper

Other ingredients:
16 oz. fresh mozarella, broken into small bit with you fingers
2 cups zucchini, grated (2 small)
2 cups yellow crooked neck squash, grated (2 medium)
9 non-cook lasagna noodles (I use Barilla)

Mix the 1/4 cup parmesan and 2 tab. breadcrumbs and set aside.  Hold on to the pine nuts til later.

With a blender (or stick blender or food processor), mix together the ricotta, parmesan, eggs, milk, garlic, basil, salt and pepper– into a creamy sauce.

Then in a 8″x10″ baking dish layer the ingredients:

First, a thin layer of sauce, then 3 noodles-side by side, the zucchini & squash, mozarella and then 1/3 of the remaining sauce.

Do a second layer and then a third.  To them all off with the parmesan mixed with the bread crumbs.  Cover it closely with foil (try not to touch the top of the lasagna with the foil– it will stick).  And pop it into a 375 degree over for 45 minutes.

Pull out the lasagna.  Take off the foil.  Sprinkle on the pine nuts and cook 10 minutes more to brown the top a bit.

When you take it out of the oven, let it sit about 15 minutes before you dig into it so it will firm up a bit.  Oh yumm.

12 thoughts on “Easy Zucchini Lasagna

  1. this looks and sounds wonderful! FYI – I never heard of non cook lasagna noodles so I googled. One the food sights talk about them as if they are the next best thing to sliced bread – LOL
    Here is the FYI – years ago, a very Italian/American BFF told me she NEVER boils here lasagna noodles before assembling – any kind – you just make as usual but use hard noodles right from box. My celtic background was skeptical so I made one pan using pre cooked noodles and one with hard from the box noodles – NO difference. I haven’t boiled a lasagna noodle since! Suggestion – we should compare prices of these “Non cook” ones to good old regular ones. And spreading the layers is so much easier when they are hard.
    Thank you Rhonda for this delicious recipe.
    cate b

  2. Oh another one I’ll have to make. Looks to be a perfect midweek dinner and I’m seeing crooked neck squash at the market now. I made your pea pesto pasta salad the other night for dinner and it was fantastic! I know it’s a hit when it’s finished by the end of the evening. We used macaroni shaped quinoa noodles and it was lovely. And yes, can’t wait for summer break too! 🙂

    • Oh, i’m so so glad you liked the pasta salad Seana! Sometimes I wonder if anyone makes the recipes, so you made my day! We have 5 more weeks of school. Happy countdown to you too!

    • Yep, we finally did plant a zucchini plant that our neighbor Bob gave us– so maybe I can harvest our own to make this. — and I love potlucks too. We’re going to one for 4th of July– so much good food and easy talk with friends.

Leave a Reply

