Libraries

liraries.regionaldirectory.usHey there– Just now got a notice popped up in my email from my friendly downtown library.  The book I’ve been waiting for (The Girl on the Train) has come in!!  I just love that place, tacking down books for me, then letting me know it’s in, all for free!

I’m a life-long library fan.  And I ran across a few library-ish quotes that I think you might like as much as I have.

“A library is the only single place you can go to learn something new, comforted, terrified, thrilled, saddened, overjoyed, or excited, all in one day.  And for free.”  –Amy Neftzger

“A library is a place vibrating with ideas.”  –Nancy Kundhadt Lodge

“Libraries are really wonderful.  They’re better than bookshops, even. I mean bookshops make a profit selling you books, but libraries just sit there lending you books out of the goodness of their hearts.”    –Jo Walton

“Without the library, you have no civilization.”     –Ray Bradbury

flavorwire.com  . “I don’t have to look far to find treasures. I discover them every time I visit a library.”
–Michael Embry

“If I could live in the library, I would.”     — Pembroke Sinclair

“Who doesn’t love a library?  It is a place you can to in any town and discover the world.”
–Pat MacEnulty

“When I enter the library, I feel I’ve come home.”    –Barbara Wright

independent.co.uk

8 thoughts on “Libraries

    • I haven’t read Gone Girl–think I might just watch the movie. But I’m like the Girl on the Train a lot– Just picked it up yesterday when we got back from vacation–about 1/3 the way through and it does really keep you guessing.

  1. I love libraries too. I’m at the stage now, when I just don’t have enough space left to buy and shelve. I am introducing my little grandsons to the library. They choose the books they want read to them, and what we should take home, then we play chasies. (The children’s section is upstairs and roomy.) What a lot of fun I’m having.

    • Love hearing from you Mary– and am a little envious of you having grandsons close enough for regular library visits. Our grand-girls live away but come to stay now and then. This summer we had “Grammy Camp” which included a scavenger hunt at the library (gave them a list to find a books with a dragon, a cat, a truck… on the cover). Happy reading!!

      • Grammy camp sounds fantastic. I am hrm, hrm, appropriating your idea for my very own. 🙂
        My granddaughters live interstate. I see them every term break. There’s a bookshelf at my place dedicated to them, although one is 11 and the other 15 and tastes have changed. I used to read to them when they were little and we went to the local bookshop every holiday so they could choose one book each to take back home. We grans have to do what we can to bond with our darlings.

  2. You sound like the best kind of grandma Mary– I think those girls will always remember the book gathering trips with you. We’re driving up to Ojai (about 2 1/2 hours north) for our Maryann’s 7th birthday this weekend and yo can guess they’ll be books inner packages! Happy weekend to you!

Leave a Reply

