Broccoli Quinoa Salad

 

IMG_2673Hello all– One more recipe left from our Christmas table that I wanted to share.  I haven’t used pomegranate seeds before– I’m afraid I was too lazy to cut open a pomegranate and extract all those seeds.  But now that you can buy little packets of seeds from Trader Joe’s I think they’ll be a regular in my kitchen.

This bright salad is crunchy and fresh and slightly sweet– using an old favorite coleslaw dressing.  If you want to be a little healthier this January, you can cut back the sugar or I’m planning to try it again with a simple oil and tarragon vinegar dressing.  Any way you make it, I think you’ll enjoy it like we did.

BROCCOLI QUINOA SALAD
3 small heads of broccoli
salt
1 cup white quinoa
1/2 cup coarsely chopped hazelnuts
1/4 cup pommegranet seeds

Dressing:
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. freshly ground pepper
2 tab. tarragon vinegar

Mix the dressing ingredients together in a large bowl.  Set aside.

Cook the broccoli in salted water until crisp tender, about 1 minutes.  Drain and set aside to cool.

Cook the 1 cup quinoa according the the package directions, about 12 minutes. Drain if there is extra water in the pan.  Fluff with a fork and let it cool.

Then mix together the broccoli quinoa, and dressing.  Set in the fridge a few minutes to chill.  Stir in the hazelnuts and pomegranate seeds just before setting it on the table.
Eat away!

IMG_2669

18 thoughts on “Broccoli Quinoa Salad

  1. I love salads like this. Pomegranate arils are a favourite of mine, I use them regularly (I think we were in sync, I posted a pomegranate salad a couple days ago!) and love the sweet crunch that they provide. Happy new year, lovely, I will definitely try your salad and wish you all of the best as the journey of 2016 begins! x

    • Of course! I could would avocado to just about anything– Larry grew up with a little grove of avocado trees in his backyard– so we always have them in the house… Happy Sunday to you Kat!

Leave a Reply

