Apple Cinnamon Walnut Pancakes

IMG_4031
Hello there– Do you ever get a certain food on your mind and can’t stop thinking about it until you sit down to a plateful? Seems like I was thinking about pancakes all last week and finally when Sunday lunch hit, I made up a big pile of there sweet things.  Actually they’re not too sweet– just the sweetness from the apple and a bit of brown sugar.  With a couple strips of bacon and a mug of tea, they’re my kind of Sunday afternoon indulgence.  Hope you like them too…

APPLE CINNAMON WALNUT PANCAKES
1 large apple (used Granny Smith)
1 cup flour
2 tab. brown sugar
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1 cup milk
1 egg
2 tab. canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

IMG_4033
Peel and core the apple.  Grate it into coarse shreds.  Set aside

Mix together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Then stir in the milk egg, oil and vanilla.  Finally fold in the grated apple and walnuts.

Pour the batter, with a 1/3 cup measuring cup, onto a hot griddle that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Cook on medium heat flipping to brown both sides.  Makes about 10 medium size pancakes.

Of course, there’s the part about adding butter and maple syrup as soon as they hit the plate.  Enjoy!

IMG_4035

 

16 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Walnut Pancakes

  1. Oh yum!!!! I really need to make these – I just posted a recipe related to a glut of apples I got from my mama’s tree, so perfect timing with this lovely apple recipe Rhonda! Yum. Such a super Sunday treat xx

  2. I love apple cinnamon anything, but I haven’t tried this combo with pancakes. YUM! I’m going to try these, but will have to use my GF mix. Hopefully it’ll work out fine. I love the walnuts on top, as well. Your pictures are incredible, I just want to lick the screen! 😀

      • Thanks Rhonda, and for stopping by! I’m glad you enjoyed the snow photos, it’s much more fun to see them than to be there right in the midst! ha ha We’re getting even more today, although more freezing rain so it might be turning into an ice storm which, although beautiful, is very dangerous and scary. Hopefully it warms up before it gets bad and turns into rain. I think I’m heading to California! 😀

  3. Oh Delish and great for a Friday Lenten meal! I will tell you what I have been obsessing over lately – a ciabatta roll with brie, fig jam and olive tapenade. I had it a few weeks ago at a little sandwich shop and cannot stop thinking about how good it was. Had to recreate it in my kitchen and did just that yesterday.- Kat

Leave a Reply

