Peace on the Roller Coaster

283393_10150263179085674_689640673_7459556_876282_n

“Thank you, God, for this good life, and forgive us if we do not love it enough.” — Garrison Keillor

Good old Garrison Keillor.  We’ve enjoyed hours (mostly on the car radio) of his folksy insights.  And thankfully, usually I do love my life.

But the last couple weeks our usually placid life has become a unexpected roller coaster ride.  There have a couple of the best “ups” and some truly disheartening downs– a friend’s cancer diagnosis, drastic changes at school…  I’m woozy.  And clinging to what I read in Philippians:

“Don’t worry about anything, instead pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for what he has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything you can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”   — Philippians 6-7 (NLT)

.

P.S. Photo from Mom’s birthday weekend at Hume Lake.

14 thoughts on “Peace on the Roller Coaster

  1. Good thoughts, Rhonda. I think that is why I enjoy vacations or day trips or just a drive in the country – to calm my “roller coaster tummy” when needed. Love you.
    cate

  2. It’s so easy to forget this–for the Christian, life on earth is as close to hell as we’ll ever get. So why do I feel like it should be easier, more fun, more comfortable, without “incident”?? But I’m so glad for journey partners like you, Rhonda, with whom to ride this roller coaster.

  3. This is one of my absolute favourite verses. It’s carried me through so many of life’s ups and downs. In fact, my mum actually framed this for me when I was in early high school and I had it on my dressing table (I have had panic attacks for many years, I don’t know if I ever told you that. I’ve been progressively healing over the years) so I could pray it out every morning. I also held on to this verse as my mum went through her breast cancer treatment and thereafter. I will be praying for your friend, for the uncertainty, for school, for all that life brings your way… that God’s peace and strength will permeate all of it. Sending you hugs Rhonda. So blessed to be your sister in Christ, to ride life’s storms together is a privilege xxx

Leave a Reply

