Whole Wheat, Bran Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

 

IMG_4259

Hi cookie eating friends– Loving this new nubble-y version of chocolate chip cookies.  They are hearty and satisfying and really taste like the sort of cookies that should come out of a grandma’s oven.  Lots of nuts and chocolate wrapped in that whole wheat/bran cookie.

I know this is not the first chocolate chip cookie that has crossed paths with this blog– but I think it will the favorite for a long time.  If you are need of cookies, hope you give these a try…

WHOLE WHEAT, BRAN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
1 cup butter. room temperature
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup white flour
1/2 cup bran
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
2 cups chocolate chips

With an electric mixer, cream together the butter and the 2 sugars.  Then beat in the eggs and vanilla.  Next mix in the wheat flour, white flour, wheat germ, salt and baking powder. Then finally, beat in the nuts and chocolate chips.

Drop the batter by spoonfuls onto a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray.  And bake them up in a 375 degree oven for 8 to 10 minutes until the cookies a beautiful browned around the edges.  And eat one while they are hot from the oven–delish!

IMG_4247

 

 

23 thoughts on “Whole Wheat, Bran Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Ok, at first glance I thought, “what??” “Whole wheat bran chocolate chip cookies? That doesn’t sound great.” But if you like them that much, then I know they’re good!! I know my husband will love them! 😊

    • I know Daisy. Why so healthy-ish when you’re making cookies? My friend Christine makes the very best chocolate chip cookies, so I finally got her recipe and didn’t have all the ingredients in the cupboard– but made the best copy I could. (change in bran for wheat germ…). I really like them for the texture and homey flavor… Happy weekend there friend! xo

    • Don’t be fooled Kat– there’s all that sugar and butter that make them taste so good. I liked the Bon Apetit Magazine for January that had a whole issue on healthy-ish foods. my kind of compromise. Hope you’re in the middle of a lovely weekend friend. xo

    • Suzanne– what did you do??!! I hardly recognized you with a new photo! I’ve been looking at your same (shorter hair) version for years. Fun to see the new you! Ok, and back to the cookies– I really liked them. Made them for the young adult group that comes in every Thursday and the problem was they didn’t leave enough leftovers! Hope you’re enjoying the weekend blog-buddy! xo

  2. I love the word nubble-y. It makes these cookies sound all the more delicious to me! Chunky pieces of chocolate or nut are pretty much my favourite when it comes to cookies. Great recipe Rhonda (love the addition of bran!) xx

Leave a Reply

