Oven Baked Parmesan Tilapia

 

IMG_4292
Hey all– Happy weekend!  As much as I love my job (with those 3rd & 4th graders in room #2 everyday)– I do savor the weekends.  They should be havens of refreshment and restoring lounging on the couch with a book.  But more often, I fill them to overflowing and running from here to there, like a wacky person.

So I’m glad to say, last Sunday after church we had a quiet lunch on the coffee table, followed by a lovely soft sofa nap.  And for lunch, this super easy baked fish.  Set it on the table with just a salad and some hearty bread.  Done– and ready for a blessedly quiet Sunday afternoon.

OVEN BAKED PARMESAN TILAPIA
2 large tilapia filets
salt & freshly ground pepper
3 tab. butter, melted
1/4 cup parmesan romano
1/4 cup Panko bread crumbs
2 tab. mayonnaise*
2 tab. cilantro (or your favorite herb)**
Lemon (optional)

IMG_4282
Pat the tilapia dry with a paper towel and set it into a baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.
Liberally salt and pepper the fish and set is aside.

Mix together the melted butter, parmesan, Panko and cilantro.

Then spread the mayonnaise onto the fish filets.  Sprinkle the bread crumb mixture over the top and put it into a 425 degree oven for 12 to 15 minutes, until the crumbs have browned and the fish is flakey.

Serve it up hot with a little wedge of lemon to top it off.***
*Used Best Food light mayo.
**I just used cilantro because that is what I had in the fridge. The recipe called for dill.  And I though rosemary would be good with the parmesan.  Use what you have/like…
***I cannot abide lemon on my fish.  But I put a wedge on for Larry who likes to squeeze it on top.

Here’s the table rubble about nap time…
IMG_4295

14 thoughts on “Oven Baked Parmesan Tilapia

    • Hope you like it Suzanne. I think next time I make it, I won’t use the mayo, just salt and pepper the fish well. It didn’t seem to add anything. But it was yummy and super easy. Like you picture!! You look so young in it!

  1. The fish sounds wonderful! I make it very much like this except with salmon. I’ve only tried it a couple times but I really like it. The quiet afternoon and nap on the sofa sound amazing, especially when you’ve had a busy week! 😊

    • Hi Daisy– We go to morning normal church and our class with friends and yesterday Larry taught in another class as well, then off to 5:00 service with a room full of younger people– so it’s always a sweet thing if an afternoon nap can be squeezed in there somewhere (not usually!). I’m sure your Sundays a full too. Hope it was a blessed day for you yesterday. xo

  2. I actually love the table photo at the end of your post. It’s a picture of contentment! Aaron and I often eat in front of the television these days, as our tiny apartment table ends up being a vehicle for shopping bags and props and Loki’s things. You’ve inspired me to actually clear it up so we can sit and have a proper dinner tomorrow night! As for the tilapia, it looks so beautifully moist. Totally get you on the lemon (I hate squeezing it over anything crumbed as it makes the crumb or topping go soggy) but Aaron loves it too! I have to quickly get my share off the plate if we ever share a fish dish or lemon juice goes all over it! Haha. Funny husbands! xx

    • That’s reassuring to hear Laura–that you eat by the tv. When we had kids home all those years, we always sat at the table– but we end up cozy in front of the tv. eating pretty often now– just the two of us. It seems more comfortable, easy. And I’m with you on the lemon, just keep it off my fish, please. (but it does look pretty on the plate). and– Loved your pomegranate molasses post!! It looked beautifully rich and inviting. take care. xo

    • Hey Marcia– maybe it’s just a west coast fish. I don’t know. But any mild white fish would be the same, don’t you think? We didn’t eat much fish when we had kids in the house, but we’re trying to eat more now… Fun to hear from you! xo

  3. Hi Rhon – I am sad to say I buy a version of this at Costco and we use it for fish tacos. Now that I see your recipe, I am sure I should be making this from scratch, it looks so easy -Kat

    • Hey Kat- we don’t have a Costco card around here, but I’m forever eating something delicious at someone’s house and when I ask about it, they tell me it was from Costco!! We need to get in there! Happy weekend to you (we have our kids coming in for the weekend, so I’m off to cook and clean til they get here!). xo

Leave a Reply

