Coconut Milk Lime Bread

IMG_4126

Hello all– Just when I thought I had come to the end of all the possible variations of quick breads, I ran across this coconut-lime version, that is bright and citrusy and fresh.  It pairs up well with mugs of tea and an engaging book to read…  Hope you try it.

COCONUT MILK LIME BREAD
For the bread:
1/2 cup sugar
6 tab. canola oil*
2 eggs
1 cup canned coconut milk
1 tab. lime zest (about 2 limes)
1  1/2 cup flour
1  1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup shredded coconut

For the glaze/topping:
1 cup powdered sugar
2 tab. lime juice
more coconut for garnish**

IMG_4101

In a mixing bowl, whisk together the sugar, oil, eggs and coconut milk.  Then stir in the flour, baking powder, salt and 1/2 cup shredded coconut.

Scrape the batter into one standard (or 2 small) loaf pans that have ben sprayed with cooking spray.  Pop it into a 350 degree oven for 35 to 45 minutes until firm and a small life inserted comes out clean.

Let the bread cool for 15 minutes and then remove from the pan.  Whisk together the powdered sugar and lime juice and drizzle it over the bread. And then immediately sprinkle on some coconut for garnish– quickly so it will stick to the glaze while it’s still wet.

Bright and fresh– best served to friends with mugs of tea.

*The recipe I worked from called for coconut oil.  I just used what I had–canola oil.  But if you have coconut oil in your well stocked kitchen, give it a try!!
**For the coconut on top I used big unsweetened coconut flakes (from Sprouts if you live in CA).  But for mixing in with the batter, just used regular shredded coconut (which would be just as pretty on top as well!)

IMG_4081

18 thoughts on “Coconut Milk Lime Bread

  1. Pingback: Coconut Milk Lime Bread | Just an Opinion

    • Hi there “Mum”– I grew up not really liking coconut, but now it’s a favorite. Glad you liked how it looks– fun to find your blog– those brownies look so rich and delish!! xo

  2. This looks absolutely DELICIOUS. Oh my gosh Rhonda, I adore the combination of coconut and lime, I can imagine how good it would be in bread form! I’m lucky to always have coconut oil in the house (I am one of those people who love using it daily) so I’ll try it as per your notes! Yum xx

  3. Hello dearest ~ I made this tasty bread for our “Knit Wits” sewing group here in Ohio and we all loved every bite! I had coconut oil and it was divine. This is a definite keeper. I’m trying to figure out a way to combine the coconut lime bread with the coconut banana bread with perhaps a few white chocolate chips and toasted macadamia nuts or almonds on top! You have blessed my taste buds and tummy once again. Thanks Rhonda 🌻🐝

    • Stop Brenda!! You’re making me drool! And I want to hear about your “Knit Wits!” What do you sew up? How often do you meet? And you’re back in Ohio?!! We need to talk. Hugs from here. Your ever-lovin’ cousin.

Leave a Reply

