So Far Away…

DSC00774
Two of our far-flung family (Laurel of Wisconsin and Little Mae of San Francisco)

“You can kiss your family and friends good-bye and put miles between you, but at the same time you carry them with you in your heart, your mind, your stomach, because you do not just live in a world but a world lives in you.”
–Frederick Buechner  (American writer and theologian)
.

I think I love this so much because my family is scattered far and wide.  Kids from Wisconsin to San Francisco to Ojai.  And my beloved sis now settled in Kosovo (I had to look that one up on the map!).  I carry them all with me…

10 thoughts on “So Far Away…

    • Hi Suaznne– scattered family, you’ve just got to love them long distance. Our son lived in China for 10 years and we made 11 trips to see him. Now he and the family are (relatively) close!! Where are you far flung family members?? xo

  1. Oh lovely. I totally get you on this. It hurts my heart to have family all over the place, I feel like parts of me are with them (if that makes sense!). My brother Michael is in the Philippines, my dad and the rest of my paternal extended family are in England, my mum’s family are in Malaysia, Sweden, Melbourne (other side of Australia, so not too far), New Zealand and Vancouver, Aaron’s older brother and his partner are in London too. We can’t afford to visit much, which pains me but I’ve learned to deal with it. Luckily we have Aaron’s parents, his oldest brother and my mum here, alongside my younger brother Charles and his girlfriend (sometimes… Chuck works four weeks away and has one week back, so it’s almost like he’s gone too!). But I guess it’s the world we live in, hey? A bit of a diaspora. As you say, at least we carry them in our hearts, we have the internet (thank goodness!) and they know how much they’re loved. Sending you hugs xxx

    • Whoa Laura– your family covers the globe! You need one of those round-the-world tickets to see them all! I remember your travels in Europe– that’s when I first found your blog and started following along. I’m hoping you have trips to all those places ahead…
      And I so agree with you about the internet. We lived in Spain for 12 years pre-email. I would write long letters to my folks every week and replies would cross in the mail. So I love texting/sending pics back and forth with our kids now. so easy to be in touch! anyway, hope you have a sweet Easter with the family at hand. xo

Leave a Reply

