Pozole

IMG_4449
Hi there– I haven’t posted rerun recipes here yet.  But a couple weeks ago a made of pot of this for my “under-the weather, busy mom with 4 great kids & an awesome husband, neighbor” and it smelled so good that a couple days later I made a big potful for us.  It’s my favorite soup, hands down.

So even though I posted the recipe 3 years ago, I’m thinking by now, it’s time to bring it up again.  I’d like to invite you over for a big hot bowl of this stuff.  But the best I can do is to send you all a recipe rerun and hope you give it a try.  It’s really that delicious.  And it’s fast, and mostly beans and veggies.  Have I talked you into trying it yet???

POZOLE
1 onion chopped
Splash of olive oil
2  14 oz. cans yellow hominy, drained & rinsed
14 oz. can of chili beans, drained  rinsed
14 oz. can of small canelini beans, drained & rinsed
2  14 oz. cans of chicken broth
7 oz. can of salsa verde (I like Hedrez brand)
1 tsp.cumin
1/4 cup whole milk (or half & half)
2 tab. cornstarch
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped fine

garnish (optional)– sour cream, avocado, grated cheddar, cilantro, chopped red pepper

In your soup pot, cook the chopped onion in the olive oil til it starts to brown.  Then add in the hominy, chili beans, canelini beans, chicken broth, salsa verde and cumin.  Let it simmer on low for 30 minutes.

Shake together the cornstarch and milk in a container with a tight fitting lid until it’s all blended.  Stir it into the simmering soup for a few minutes until it thickens.  Stir in the chopped cilantro.

Serve up the soup pipping hot with a side of cornbread.  Homey good.

IMG_4455

 

9 thoughts on “Pozole

  1. I can almost smell this good comfort food. Thanks for sharing the recipe (and I think it’s a great idea to repeat a few, especially after three years!). What is on top of the cornbread–cream and jam?

  2. I love soup, so when I saw your Pozole recipe (which I had never before heard of), I gave it a try last night. Everyone loved it, especially with the weather turning cooler. Served it with pumpkin cornbread, which was a perfect accompaniment. It was my first time using hominy, so that was fun! Thanks for a brand new soup recipe. I’ll be adding it to my arsenal.

    Sandy

    • Oh Sandy, I love hearing this– since I usually never know if someone even makes these recipes! And honestly, this one is my favorite. AND- pumpkin cornbread!! Would you pass on that recipe?– sounds so homey. take care friend. xox

    • Hey Kat– I think you’re right. Pozole often has pork– and I’ve had a good chicken version at a little Mexican place in San Francisco that I tried to copy. But this one is my favorite. It just hits my flavor happy place! Happy week ahead!…

    • whoa! that makes me happy that someone tried the soup– especially you and that old John! I like that it makes enough for lunch leftovers all week! Counting the days til you come home! (10!) hugs hugs.

Leave a Reply

