Daily Beauty

0fe89e3a5b7441834740ebcc3e163f2c
Fields (2) painted by Camille Pissarro

“Blessed are they who see beautiful things in humble places where other people see nothing.”
— Camille Pissarro (Danish French painter (1830-1903) and a mentor to the French impressionists.

I’m afraid I’m often one of the “see nothing” people, living my days in a mad rush.
But I’m hopeful– there is beauty in every day, if I just stop to look…

So at the end of this day, thank you for the banks of blossoms as we rode by the park on the bus.
Thank you for the brightness of the sugar snap peas on our dinner plates.
Thank you for the sound of my 88 year old Father-in-laws voice on the phone.
Thank you for the sun pouring in the front windows late this afternoon.
Thank you for the sweetness of Ani’s fresh face as we passed a quiet day together.

These things are blessings.  I am grateful.

.
P.S. Camille Pissarro is one of my very favorites. I have a tender print of a mother with a baby sitting in a garden, from one of his paintings, hanging by my front door.  And loved Irving Stone’s endearing and comprehensive biography of Pissarro, Depths of Glory. 

 

7 thoughts on “Daily Beauty

  1. The colors in the painting are so beautiful. Thanks for the reminder to be thankful for the “little things” which usually end up being the big things over the course of time.

    • I love that Daisy– those sweet little memories are really the biggest things. Spent the part of this morning playing on the floor with our almost-one grandson–a little thing that over time will be the best memories. Hope you all are well there. xo

Leave a Reply

