Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting

IMG_5606

Hi all– Sometime when that chocolate craving hits, I head straight to the cupboard for a small handful of chocolate chips to tide me over.  But there is a more refined and fairly easy way to satisfy those cravings– namely with this simple rich chocolate cake topped with a tangy chocolate sour cream frosting.  It’s for real chocolate lovers.  That’s me.  You too?

CHOCOLATE CAKE WITH CHOCOLATE SOUR CREAM CREAM FROSTING

Cake:
1 cup flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder*
1  1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1/4 canola oil
2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup strong coffee**

Frosting:
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup sour cream
1 tsp. vanilla

To make the cake, mix the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt.  The stir in the egg, milk, oil, vanilla and coffee.  Mix til it’s all blended and then pour the batter into a 9 or 10 inch cake pan that has been sprayed with cooking spray.

Put the cake into the oven at 350 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes (depending on the size of your pan) and cook until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

Let the cake cool before you frost it.

To make the frosting, melt the chocolate chips in a microwave 60 seconds. Stir them until they are smooth and melty.  (If they don’t seem completely melted, microwave them a few seconds more.)

Then stir in the sour cream and vanilla.  Spread it over the cake and viola!  It’s ready to satisfy any chocolate craving.

*I like Hershey’s dark unsweetened cocoa–so rich!
**I just use those tiny packets individual packets of instant coffee with 1/2 cup boiling water.

IMG_5595

31 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting

    • Hi Melody– I also have little stash of chocolate in a kitchen drawer, but currently it’s empty. Can’t wait to make your roasted veggie enchiladas and that green Houston sauce (how did it get the name Houston??). They look great! xo

      • Chocolate is just the best isn’t it? Thanks for the kind comments on the enchiladas I hope you really enjoy them!! In Houston they serve this creamy green salsa at Mexican food restaurant instead of traditional red salsa. So in Texas it’s referred to as “Houston” Green Salsa. It’s really good… I want to try it with some seafood with all the lime I think it would be really tasty!!

  1. You are not making it easy for me to lose my winter ’10’…Now I have no choice but to pin it and make it for Mother’s Day…..cake calories don’t count that day do they? 🙂

    • He Rebecca — I’m working on those 10 pounds too!! My goal is to lose it before we hit the lake house with all our kids in Wisconsin this summer. So far it’s going really slowly! ugh. Hope you are doing better than me!! xo

  2. OMG this looks amazing! Question: do you think I could replace some of the flour with a whole grain variety? Or even coconut flour or almond flour? Thank you! ps – I really love the name of your blog, it touches me. 🙂

    • I loved the frosting too Suzanne– it was tangy and sweet at the same time, something different. –your flank steak recipe pictures are mouth watering. I don’t cook a lot of beef either, but this is worth a try!! thanks Blog Buddy. xo

  3. Rhonda, you’ve brought back such memories with this cake – I had forgotten that my Mother used to make chocolate cake with sour cream frosting. I’m not sure that this is the same one, but you’ve certainly started a craving here!

    Mollie

Leave a Reply

